Review: nWo: The Revolution DVD – Documentary & Matches (2012)

November 11, 2012 by Joe Israel

I don’t think there’s any debate that the formation of the nWo is one of the most important moments in wrestling history.  It made wrestling mainstream again, and indirectly led to the start of the Attitude Era in the WWE.  Although we had a single disc nWo DVD release in 2002, it mostly focused on the WWE nWo run.  It’s about time we got a DVD surveying the entire run of this influential group.

nWo The Revolution WWE DVD

This DVD lived up to my expectations on almost every level, and I’ll get more into those different levels shortly.  The DVD is rated TV-PG.  Disc 1 runs about 90 minutes (including bonus features), Disc 2 runs about 2 hours, 30 minutes, and Disc 3 runs about 2 hours, 40 minutes.  As expected, the WWF scratch logo remains unblurred, and this is the first DVD on which I can confirm that the announcers saying WWF is no longer bleeped either.

 

“You Can Call This the New World Order of Professional Wrestling, Brother”: The Documentary

WCW Announcers Desk

I think most readers were a bit disappointed when they heard that the documentary on this DVD would only be an hour long.  After the great Rock/Cena doc, though, my hopes got a little bit higher.  After seeing this documentary and the Rock/Cena documentary, I’m really liking the direction the WWE may be going with their features.  In the past, pretty much all WWE documentaries have been “timeline” documentaries that just ran through someone’s career.  While these docs are usually very entertaining, they don’t hold their own as great films.  However, with this nWo feature, instead of looking at every feud over the career of the nWo, we get more of an overview of the group’s ideology while still looking at some of their most important storylines and moments.  I found this format to be very effective. 

After watching the documentary, you get a great feel of what it was like to follow the nWo during the time period. The biggest criticism is that they didn’t spend nearly enough time discussing the key events from the history of the nWo, such as the feud with Sting, the formation of the Wolfpack, the Fingerpoke of Doom, and others.  At the same time, they spent a bit too much time talking about Rodman’s involvement in the group.  Another 15-20 minutes to give the feature some breathing room would have been great.  However, this DVD shows that length of the feature does not always measure greatness.  If this were one hour longer, it would become much more generic.

WWE nWo The Revolution Documentary

Like most DVD’s that have come out this year, the WWE picked the perfect subjects to be interviewed for the DVD.  Unfortunately, the fact that Hogan, Hall, & Bischoff were not available to be interviewed does hurt the DVD, but the other interviews are all pretty good.  Some surprising names, like Vince Russo & Lex Luger, show up in addition to expected interviews from Nash, Big Show, DDP, and others.  The biggest surprise ended up being the interview with Cody Rhodes.  It was great to have an interview from an “outsider” watching the nWo storylines as a fan with family ties to the company.  Rhodes is clearly a smart guy, and he gives a great perspective to the nWo to go alongside those from the wrestlers involved in the storyline.  Between this DVD, the Edge DVD, and the Punk DVD (not to mention who we’ve heard is being included in the Foley DVD), I think we can safely say that the WWE will be using the perfect names for their interviews from here on out.

I wanted to quickly discuss one of the biggest potential issues with WWE DVD’s about WCW: revisionist history.  I didn’t feel that was too prevalent here.  Some of the aspects of the nWo are actually celebrated more than they probably should have been.  I was happy that they acknowledged how successful, from a publicity standpoint, the inclusions of Rodman & Leno in WCW were.  Bill DeMott was the only interview that said anything about being unhappy that non-wrestlers were main-eventing a PPV, though.  I can’t imagine he was the only person who felt that way.  They also don’t pretend that the WWE version of the nWo was much of a success.  They say that it was basically a low-rent version of the original nWo, which was good to hear.  Hopefully, we are at the end of  the revisionist history era on these DVD’s from now on.

 

“Lethal Dose of Poison”: The Matches

The Outsiders Vs. Randy Savage, Sting, & Lex Luger (Bash at the Beach, 7/7/96) – ** 3/4

Probably one of the top 3 most memorable moments in the history of wrestling occurs at the conclusion of this match.  The rest of the match surrounding it isn’t bad either.

Hulk Hogan WCW Champion

WCW World Heavyweight Championship Match: The Giant Vs. Hollywood Hulk Hogan (Hog Wild, 8/10/96) – DUD

I think this match was just a 20-minute Greco-Roman Knuckle Lock.  Painfully boring match here.  The post-match promo is included, though, which is a lot of fun.

WCW Tag Team Championship Match: The Outsiders Vs. Harlem Heat (Halloween Havoc, 10/27/96) – ** 1/2

A perfectly reasonable tag team match.

Syxx Vs. The Bounty Hunter (nWo Saturday Night, 11/9/96) – N/A

A squash match that is fun to watch just to see the concept behind “nWo Saturday Night”.

WCW Steiner Brothers

WCW Tag Team Championship Match: The Outsiders Vs. The Steiner Brothers (Souled Out, 1/25/97) – ***

These two teams had pretty good chemistry, and, honestly, that makes this probably the best in-ring match on the entire DVD set.

WCW World Heavyweight Championship Match: Hollywood Hulk Hogan Vs. Roddy Piper (Superbrawl VII, 2/23/97) – 3/4 *

Hogan & Piper were both well past their prime at this point.  The match is paced slowly because of this, but that doesn’t really help it.  This is also the first of many matches on this DVD to have a completely nonsensical finish.

Dennis Rodman WCW

Hollywood Hulk Hogan & Dennis Rodman Vs. Lex Luger & The Giant (Bash at the Beach, 7/13/97) – **

A much better match than I was expecting, but still nothing great.  For a non-wrestler, Rodman wasn’t terrible, and the worst parts of the match were actually the parts where Hogan & Luger attempted to “wrestle”.  My biggest complaint is just that the match went on too long.

Las Vegas Sudden Death Match: Diamond Dallas Page Vs. Randy Savage (Halloween Havoc, 10/26/97) – ** 1/4

Your typical “brawl around the arena” style hardcore match, which has never been my favorite.  Again, ends in a pretty bad screwjob finish.

WCW World Heavyweight Championship Match: Sting Vs. Hollywood Hulk Hogan (Nitro, 12/29/97) – * 1/4

Way too short to really mean anything, this match took place after the infamous Sting/Hogan Starrcade match the night before.  Bizarrely, the finish of this match actually takes place AFTER NITRO WENT OFF THE AIR, but it is all included on the DVD.  It’s pretty silly.

WCW World Heavyweight Championship No DQ Match: Randy Savage Vs. Hollywood Hulk Hogan (Nitro, 4/20/98) – 1/2 *

Another match between two men well past their prime. Another screwy finish as well.

Stinger Splash WCW

WCW World Tag Team Championship Match: Sting Vs. The Giant (Great American Bash, 6/14/98) – **

Yes, this is a singles match for the Tag Team title.  A very basic match that could’ve gone a bit longer.  There was also a ridiculous storyline going on at the time about Sting trying to convince The Giant to stop smoking or something like that.

Hollywood Hulk Hogan & Eric Bischoff Vs. Jay Leno & Diamond Dallas Page (Road Wild, 8/8/98) – * 3/4

Like the Rodman match, this was better than it should have been.  This match was also way too long though.

Hulk Hogan WCW War Games

War Games Match: Team WCW (Diamond Dallas Page, Roddy Piper, & The Warrior) Vs. Team Hollywood (Hollywood Hulk Hogan, Bret Hart, & Stevie Ray) Vs. Team Wolfpack (Kevin Nash, Sting, & Lex Luger) (Fall Brawl, 9/13/98) – * 3/4

The antics with The Warrior in this match completely overshadow anything else going on.  Honestly, it’s worth watching just to witness some of the disaster that is Warrior’s WCW run.  The match itself is pretty generic and short.

WCW World Heavyweight Championship No Disqualification Match: Goldberg Vs. Kevin Nash (Starrcade, 12/27/98) – * 3/4

I actually was pretty disappointed in this match.  I knew going in about the horrible finish, but I was hoping they would put on a better big man style match.  The match was very short, very generic, and, as I mentioned, has a terrible finish.

Bret Hart WCW Champion

WCW World Heavyweight Championship Match: Goldberg Vs. Bret Hart (Nitro, 12/20/99) – * 1/2

Yet another very short match that is all about the aftermath, leading to the formation of nWo 2000.

Hollywood Hulk Hogan, Kevin Nash, & Scott Hall Vs. The Rock & Steve Austin (Raw, 3/11/02) – ** 1/2

The idea of having all of these men in the same match is pretty cool, and overall it’s a fun match to watch.  This also is one of the few times Hogan & Austin ever squared off in the ring.  That reason alone makes it pretty memorable.

 

“Too Sweet”: Closing Thoughts

Overall, The Revolution is a nice representation of the nWo, both in the best ways and the worst ways.  For every great promo, there’s a terrible match with a stupid finish, and this DVD sums that up perfectly.

nWo Group

Although the documentary is short, it’s still a lot of fun, and is a very well made film.  Yes, some parts are a bit rushed, but it has a great thematic through-line, and the time flies by while watching it.  As you can see above, the bonus matches on this DVD are not great from an in-ring standpoint, but a lot of them are fun to watch anyway.  The finishes are often ludicrous, and most of the matches are kept short enough.  Just don’t go in expecting a technical masterpiece, and you’ll probably end up having enjoying yourself.  My single biggest complaint about this DVD is the lack of segments.  There are a few segments included as bonus features on Disc 1, but I didn’t think this was enough.  The nWo was known more for the great segments than the matches, and the DVD doesn’t represent this fairly.  Regardless, I still would recommend this DVD.  It’s an easy watch, and gives a great picture of what WCW was lying during its heyday.

Get it now :: Amazon US.   Silver Vision UK.   Shock Australia.

 
Let us know what you thought in the comments below, and I’ll be back in two weeks to look at what could be called the bastard child of the nWo – The Attitude Era!




New WWE DVDs on Amazon.co.uk


55 Comments left on this article...

  1. Jo Boy Lee says:

    Watched this yesterday with my nephew such fond childhood memories. 🙂 Does anyone know the song that was in it? it was at the part Dusty Rhodes became a member lyrics were “running with big names’

  2. Arthas says:

    Starrcade, 12/27/98 had the greatest finish EVER!

  3. Jeff Copeland says:

    i just got this dvd and yea bio is short but new people in it like cody ted michael hening dusty lex and russo were cool someof the matches good i would of liked few others like uncensored 97 team wcw piper and team nwo match hogan savage from havoc 96 and 97 piper match and following annoucements were kool yea bio is really short kinda wish they go more into things like starrcade more on split on nwo into wolfpac and others legends of roundtable was a good extra again short but good this is for those who really enjoyed nwo no matter wat so yea get this dvd expcially on bluray for extras as far as easter egg big show thing hes just bitter he was in rise and fall of wcw on wcw and nwo so who cares wat he says he played a minor role in nwo but keeped getting kicked out anyway good dvd worth a pick up and NWO ARE JUST TO SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEET and remember ITS 1 MORE FOR THE GOOD GUYS 4 LIFE ! 😀

  4. Markus says:

    Finished this set yesterday. The documentry really needs 20-30 more minutes to tell the whole story right. The matches were the most time not really good but this set is all about the feeling and the whole nWo-Story and for this it’s absolutly fantastic.

  5. John Anderson says:

    NWO: The Revolution, might have been better off being called NWO: Rise & Fall of WCW, but the WWE has provided an entertaining look back at one of the most influential groups in professional wrestling, even if the set displays a lot of why WCW ultimately failed. The documentary is short, but easy to watch. It’s not particularly informative if you have seen anything WWE has produced on WCW or the NWO, and it also lacks a good amount of updated interview segments, though I did appreciate much of the new stuff that was provided. The match selection doesn’t offer up a lot of classics or hidden gems, but does give fans a good look back at the group & it’s members, there is also a good amount of unreleased material to keep the collectors happy. The matches for the most part are also just a lot of fun & make viewing a breeze. I would have liked more segments, but being a big NWO/WCW fan from 1997-1998, I’m willing to give this more then a passing grade!

    Documentary (***)

    Highlights:

    The Outsiders vs. “Macho Man” Randy Savage, Sting & Lex Lugar (WCW BASH AT THE BEACH – 07/07/1996) ***¼

    The Outsiders vs. Harlem Heat © – WCW World Tag-Team Championship (WCW HALLOWEEN HAVOC – 10/27/1996) **3/4

    The Steiner Bros. vs. The Outsiders © – WCW World Heavyweight Championship (NWO SOULED OUT – 01/25/1997) ***

    “Diamond” Dallas Page vs. “Macho Man” Randy Savage – Las Vegas Death Match (WCW HALLOWEEN HAVOC – 10/26/1997) ****

    “Hollywood” Hulk Hogan vs. “Macho Man” Randy Savage © – WCW World Heavyweight Championship – No DQ Match (WCW MONDAY NITRO – 04/20/1998) **

    Sting vs. The Giant – WCW World Tag-Team Championship (WCW GREAT AMERICAN BASH – 06/14/1998) **

    Kevin Nash vs. Goldberg © – WCW World Heavyweight Championship (WCW STARRCADE – 12/27/1998) ***

    NWO vs. The Rock & “Stone Cold” Steve Austin (WWE RAW – 03/11/2002) ***

    Overall: 7.5/10

  6. papa_shango5 says:

    I really wish the interviews would have been updated. Pretty sure it would be tough to get Scott Hall, and Hogan but more recent interviews would have been phenomenal.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Just wondering, the blu-ray is 8 hours 38 minutes long, so why is the dvd version only 6 hours 50 minutes long when there’s enough room on the DVD for all the content that is included in the blu-ray version.

    Hopefully all future releases will have plain black sidebars from now on.

    • Dave says:

      Because Blu-ray is the way to go. It’s a way to attract Blu-ray buyers.

      If people are paying premium they better damn well include bonus content.

  8. Rip says:

    I would like to thank the WWE, by not acting as stupid as WCW/NWO did. I also like to thank myself and my family in not buying a box of AAA batteries during the Monday Night Wars. The remote last longer this way! As for this DVD, what a waste! Not only for content but for the wrestling matches. Please, in the future I hope there won’t be a Volume 2! WWE, please learn from your mistakes, that these DVD’s are not worth compiling. Cheers!

    • Anonymous says:

      Wow you must be a sports entertainment person because the nwo made wrestling huge and made the wwe introduce the attitude era. Get a life and give credit where credit is due.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Great blu ray set I love how it had the legends roundtable on it great stuff

  10. Steven says:

    I thought it was a great DVD, top 5 of the year in my mind but one thing I agree with Kevin Nash is that how in the world could nWo lose at their own PPV and they had an nWo ref in Nick Patrick. My only critism is they could’ve showen more nWo 2000, I was a fan of it but damn Bret got hurt which runied it.

  11. BR says:

    Also worth noting, even though The Big Show says nice things about the nWo in the documentary, there’s a hidden easter egg where Big Show gives his real opinion about the nWo & curses a good bit about how they’re the worst thing to happen to the wrestling industry. Found that funny.

    • Steven says:

      Where’s the hidden Easter egg at on the DVD?

      • pmdmf says:

        It’s the Hogan confronts Piper chapter.

        • Steven says:

          I was a little shocked Big Show said that about the nWo his opinion though but I loved the nWo, guess not everyone did and he was a member of the nWo.

          • Harry Faversham says:

            I wasn’t surprised by it because I don’t think he comes across as a particularly bright giant. The man is as dim as a glow worm’s armpit. Hulk Hogan and the nWo are pretty much the reasons he became a name in wrestling. No one cared about any of his dungeon of doom stuff as he said himself on the doc. Its pretty much the only thing he’s ever done in his career that’s slightly watchable. The guy absolutely sucks! The only times he was good was when he was in the nWo and he did well with the ECW title. The rest of his 17 year career has been very bland and rested solely on the fact that he’s a giant, but that on its own isnt particularly good to watch. You would have thought a match against Undertaker could be good, but no. He’s no kind of phenom like Andre or Undertaker, but he is the world’s largest member of the Vince McMahon kiss my ass club (see the McMahon DVD).

            • Steven says:

              I never watched the Vince one but what did Big Show say in it? It caught me off-guard on the nWo DVD because I was like wow he was a member of the nWo and Hogan’s friend.

              • Harry Faversham says:

                Well, what sticks in my mind the most was his take on the montreal screwjob was so skewed, one sided and innacurate it was quite hard to watch. They used to do that a lot though, probably to protect the company image, with Triple H lying on the Shawn Michaels DVD etc. To his credit Shawn Michaels kind of stopped doing that and seemed to become a real jam-up guy in the end. Can’t tell you how glad I am those guys made up. Never should have happened in the first place. That’s a whole different story and the last thing I want to do is open a debate about that. But what struck me about Big Show was when I read Bret’s book and Bret tells a story of how Big Show almost killed them both by driving badly on the road and tells Bret that he saved his life by stopping him from pulling out in front of something. So after hearing those comments, it just seemed rather rude to me. But I suppose he just comes across as a bit of a puppet to be honest. The Big Slow was probably a fair cop. But to be fair I don’t actually know the man and if he reads this he’ll probably reach through the computer and chokeslam me, so maybe I’ll stop bashing him for a bit. Not a fan though. I would rather NOT have had that easter egg on the disc at all.

  12. Mark D says:

    I feel the biggest let down with the documentary was that I learned nothing new, whether that’s because the nWo story has been told so many times, I’m not sure. The feature certainly would have benefited from more/some analysis of the backstage politics during the run and how it helped and indeed hindered the group (plus they could have buried Hogan more!).

    Additionally an in depth look at Starrcade 97 (the build to, the event and the fall out) after all it was the culmination of the nWo story and of course WCW’s biggest show. They could have picked apart the finish and the affect the botched fast count had.

    Other things which could have been looked at were how the ball was dropped with Bret’s arrival, how Waltman left WCW/NWO right into DX. The ‘finger-poke of doom’ and why and how? Plus nWo 2000 and how it was starting out good but Bret got injured and Goldberg destroyed his hand.

    Finally how despite all these negative things surrounding the nWo, it is still regarded as one of the greatest groups in history and their massive impact a business which was going through a rather dark period.

    • Joe Israel says:

      I do agree with a lot of these thoughts. That’s why I said I was hoping for about 15-20 minutes to break down some of this stuff more. And I do think the reason we didn’t really learn anything new is because we already know this stuff so well. Bryan Alvarez & RD Reynolds wrote an entire book about it already.

    • Anonymous says:

      Agreed. Why not have the Hogan/Sting Nitro match on Best of Nitro, and Hogan/Sting from Starrcade or Super Brawl in 1998 on this? That Hogan/Sting Starrcade match was huge at the time and, if you are a younger fan, you would never know because WWE never acknowledges it. Also agree on the Fingerpoke incident. That more than anything killed the group, but its not even on here. As for the review, I have to disagree with the Hogan/Savage Nitro match. That match was HUGE at the time and I remember my jaw on the floor at the finish. It was not “screwy”. It was a lot better than 1/2* also. Everything else is pretty much correct on the review.

    • Anonymous says:

      BTW, for anyone who doesn’t know, the Hogan/Sting finish was shown on the first episode of Thunder. That Nitro only ended at about 7 minutes past the hour, so WCW clearly did have time — sometimes Nitro went up to 30 minutes over. It was just an angle to get people to watch the first episode of Thunder.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Not really in my must buy list but will consider getting the bluray once prices drop only because the LOW segment is probably the best blu-ray extra the WWE has come with so far in any set

  14. Robert says:

    Excellent review guys! This gets me amped to see your review for The Attitude Era DVD! That one I believe will be the “Golden Goose” of the year.

  15. Jesus Lopez says:

    Great review. I did enjoy this release. I was happy that it was not a rehash of the 2002 nWo release. They did a great job of updating the presentation and appreciate the fact that they used Hogan commentary (previously released but we can’t have it all). Each section was very much to the point. At 60 minutes for the documentary and with so much material to cover there was no time for it to get boring. The matches selected were not the greatest, but looking back, the nWo were not exactly the greatest in-ring performers. They looked and sounded cool, but their wrestling skills were so-so at best. It was nastolgic and for this reason I enjoyed every moment. Good release, long over due, and hopefully it will be the last because there’s a time and place for everything.

  16. VK Millstreet says:

    you skipped savage v hogan.

  17. nightmare says:

    I am kind of glade I cancel my order for this one because it not what I had hoped it would be .Too bad because this one could have been the gold goose of the year instead of a hard boiled egg.

  18. Steve says:

    The idea of this DVD was great but overall they did a half ass job. They don’t go through the nWO piece by piece they just jump through it all. Some of the interviews are good but I felt cheated at the end of it.

  19. Anonymous says:

    Excellent review, TERRIBLE release. Really, the best part about this release is what we don’t see: no patterns on the sidebar. That the black sidebars I LOVE. The content of this release stinks.

    NOTE TO WWE: We want you to LEAVE THE SIDEBARS BLACK as you did in this otherwise awful release.

  20. Vincenzzzzzo says:

    Thanks for the review!

  21. BR says:

    Just got finished watching the Blu-Ray edition, it was decent, kinda hoped for more to be covered in the documentary. The matches aren’t that great but at the same time, a lot of them belong on the set. Thank God the black pillar bars are back. The vignettes are beyond awesome, & the roundtable was informative & a good watch, but it did annoy me with Nash’s explanation for the Fingerpoke of Doom.

    He said they knew Goldberg was THE guy of the business, & they did the Fingerpoke to rebuild the nWo & Goldberg would have a stable to fight, but Goldberg broke his hand or whatever when he shattered the windows to Bret Hart’s limo with his fist instead of using a bat like he should of and that ruined the plans for him & the nWo. That’s what Nash said. The problem is, the fingerpoke happened just after Starrcade 98, & Bret joined the nWo (leading to the incident where Goldberg broke his hand) just after Starrcade 99. So unless they planned on Goldberg fighting the nWo for over a year straight, I don’t buy that, & even then, Goldberg fighting the nWo for over a year would of gotten boring real quick imo. Other than that, I did enjoy the roundtable & it was more informative than the documentary in a way.

  22. Paul says:

    Its totally worth it to get the bluray on this set. Just for the roundtable and the interviews.

  23. Tobi says:

    Anyone know, which song it is at the end of the Documentation ?

  24. Paul says:

    Love the jet black pillar bars. Hopefully WWE is going back to this with every release!

  25. pmdmf says:

    Spot on review, as always. I bought the blu ray for the roundtable discussion, and it was good as I expected it to be. I also thought the No Respect for Tradition vignette was hilarious. Good work.

  26. Anonymous says:

    Once again, the Blu-Ray’s definitely superior to the DVD given that it comes with the Roundtable and a bunch of promos.

    I also never really saw the problem with having a singles match for the tag title. Sting and the Giant didn’t get along and belonged to two different stables, so having them wrestle for the belts and the winner picking a new partner made sense to me.

  27. Daniel Bee says:

    Don’t ever call the Attitude Era a bastard again. 😉

Leave Your Comments

 

More of the latest Wrestling DVD News...    

FOUR New WWE DVD Sets Announced for 2019 With Release Dates – Including ‘Best of NXT TakeOver’
SURPRISE! The WWE Evolution 2018 DVD Has Officially Released Today As A Walmart Exclusive
REVEALED: New Cover Artwork & Extras for WWE Survivor Series 2018 DVD, Win Super Show-Down!
EXCLUSIVE: WWE Producing ‘Best of NXT TakeOver – 2018’ DVD; First List of 2019 Releases Revealed
FULL CONTENT Listing for WWE ‘Best Pay-Per-View Matches 2018’ DVD – 16 Bouts And A Royal Rumble!
REVEALED: Cover Artwork And First Match Picks for WWE ‘Best Pay-Per-View Matches 2018’ DVD