Review: WWE ‘Best Pay-Per-View Matches 2013’ DVD

January 2, 2014 by Joe Israel

WWE Best PPV Matches DVD Logo

Best Pay-Per-View Matches has been one of my favorite DVD series for the past few years, so I was looking forward to this one like always.  While I hadn’t seen every PPV match from this year, a lot of my favorites that I had seen were included, and I hadn’t had a chance to revisit many of them yet. 

I am not a big PPV DVD collector, so this DVD serves a great role for me. There are plenty of PPV’s with only 1 or 2 great matches (yes, even Battleground had a good match), and it’s nice to get those matches without needing to buy the full show on DVD.

Renee Young Hosting WWE Best PPV Matches 2013

Like last year, I’m not going to do a separate rundown of the format of this DVD.  It is hosted by Renee Young, and she is fine.  Her segments are completely random; they have her giving specific introductions for some of the less important matches, and skipping over big matches entirely.  I can’t say anything bad about her performance, but the segments still weren’t really needed.  Disc 1 of the DVD runs 2 hours, 15 minutes, Disc 2 runs a little over 2 hours, and Disc 3 runs 3 hours.  It is rated TV-PG, and there are no noticeable edits.

 

The Matches:

WWE Championship Match: CM Punk Vs. The Rock (Royal Rumble, 1/27/13) – *** 3/4

Punk & Rock string together a solid story here, but the match is a little slow, and I think that prevented it from being a classic.  I also really did not like the ending.  It made sense for the storyline going on at the time, but it was a disappointing way to end CM Punk’s long title reign.  It did help make The Shield look important, though.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2013 DVD - John Cena & Ryback Vs The Shield

John Cena, Ryback, & Sheamus Vs. The Shield (Elimination Chamber, 2/17/13) – *** 3/4

After the classic six-man tag at TLC, this match showed that The Shield could get it done in the ring without the use of gimmicks.  Sheamus, Cena, & Ryback serve as a great team of traditional good guys to try to stand up to The Shield, but The Shield always seem like they are one step ahead.  It made those three look smart, which I think was important.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2013 DVD - Undertaker vs CM Punk

Undertaker Vs. CM Punk (WrestleMania 29, 4/7/13) – **** 3/4

After a number of years wrestling other good guys at Mania, it was nice to see Taker wrestle a full-on heel.  Punk certainly played up to that, and came across as one of the biggest jerks seen in the WWE in a long time.  This worked really well against Taker; they had an excellent dynamic together, and gave us a classic match.  I may be biased because I was part of it, but the great reactions from the crowd help as well.  I also was happy to see Living Colour’s performance included.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2013 DVD - Rock vs. Cena WrestleMania 29

WWE Championship Match: The Rock Vs. John Cena (WrestleMania 29, 4/7/13) – *** 1/2

While the crowd may have helped Punk & Taker, it was not as kind to this match.  All of the intrigue from their first encounter seemed to disappear for the rematch, and this match never got out of first gear until they started hitting finishers.  It became too reliant on this, and the idea of Cena needing redemption as the main story was a little silly.  I do love the moment where Cena looks like he is going to hit a People’s Elbow, but stops short instead. It’s one of my favorite in-ring moments of the year from WWE.

Extreme Rules Match: Randy Orton Vs. Big Show (Extreme Rules, 5/19/13) – ** 3/4

As an Extreme Rules match, this worked pretty well.  It’s not exactly revolutionary, but it gets the job done.  It does reach the rare accomplishment of allowing both men to look strong after the match is over.  It took a lot for Orton to “slay the giant”.  I wish they could have allowed Orton to continue using the Punt Kick after this match.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2013 DVD - Triple H vs Brock Lesnar in Steel Cage

Steel Cage Match: Triple H Vs. Brock Lesnar (Extreme Rules, 5/19/13) – *** 3/4

I have to give Triple H & Lesnar a lot of credit for coming up with a completely unique match here from their previous two, and this one might be my favorite.  It makes the Steel Cage look like an important gimmick again, especially after how it impacts Lesnar’s knee during the match.  The ending of the match also is well done; Lesnar looks dominant, but he still needs to use nefarious means to come up with win over Hunter.

Intercontinental Championship Match: Wade Barrett Vs. The Miz Vs. Curtis Axel (Payback, 6/16/13) – ***

This is exactly what I am looking for from a short multi-man match.  The action is non-stop from bell to bell, and there are a lot of cool counters and double-team moves.  I also really enjoyed the unique finish.  A great choice for this DVD to represent some of the mid-card talent from this year.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2013 DVD - AJ Lee vs. Kaitlyn

Divas Championship Match: Kaitlyn Vs. AJ Lee (Payback, 6/16/13) – ** 1/2

One of the more intense divas matches in WWE history here.  Kaitlyn & AJ do some great character work (although Kaitlyn’s tendency to smile when she is in submissions is a little distracting), and that leads to a really great story.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2013 DVD - Alberto Del Rio vs. Dolph Ziggler

World Heavyweight Championship Match: Dolph Ziggler Vs. Alberto Del Rio (Payback, 6/16/13) – **** 1/4

Wrestling storytelling at its finest.  It’s tough to pull off a double turn, and this is probably the best it’s been done since Hart/Austin in 1997.  It’s impossible to not sympathize with Ziggler as he takes a hell of a beating.  Del Rio plays his ruthless role perfectly as well.  At times, you start to believe that the injuries are legitimate.  I was on the edge of my seat throughout.

World Heavyweight Championship Money in the Bank Ladder Match: Cody Rhodes Vs. Dean Ambrose Vs. Wade Barrett Vs. Jack Swagger Vs. Antonio Cesaro Vs. Fandango Vs. Damien Sandow (Money in the Bank, 7/14/13) – ****

I was really impressed with the ingenuity in this match.  At this point, we had already seen a lot of Money in the Bank matches, and I had thought that we had pretty much seen it all.  These seven men do a great job coming up with some unique spots.  There also are a number of storylines going on in this match, which helps make it a lot more meaningful.  Cody Rhodes ascension in the latter half of 2013 began here.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2013 DVD - Brock Lesnar vs. CM Punk

No Disqualification Match: CM Punk Vs. Brock Lesnar (SummerSlam, 8/18/13) – **** 1/2

This match has it all: great action, solid storytelling, and even a bit of comedy.  Since his ascendance in 2011, Punk rarely played the clear underdog role, but he does a great job here in trying to slay Lesnar.  I especially liked his use of MMA holds to try to beat Lesnar at his own game.  From an in-ring standpoint, this has certainly been Lesnar’s best match since his return.

WWE Daniel Bryan Angry

WWE Championship Match: John Cena Vs. Daniel Bryan (Guest Ref: Triple H) (SummerSlam, 8/18/13) – **** 1/2

I don’t think anyone was surprised that Cena & Bryan had such good chemistry, and they put together a strong wrestling match.  Bryan looks like he deserves to be in the main event, and Cena shows that he can hold his own in the ring with Bryan.  I refuse to believe anyone thinks it is OK to chant “You can’t wrestle” at Cena after watching this match.  They bring the best out of each other, and put together a number of cool spots within the overall story.  The post-match moment with Orton is included here as well.

World Heavyweight Championship Match: Alberto Del Rio Vs. Rob Van Dam (Night of Champions, 9/15/13) – ***

While this match is very nicely put together, it felt like there was something missing.  I think the biggest issue was that Del Rio and RVD don’t have the greatest chemistry.  Del Rio is very intense the entire match, but RVD is fairly nonchalant.  This prevented it from becoming great.  I didn’t have a problem with the non-finish to the match; it did a nice job setting up a rematch.

Divas Championship Fatal 4-Way Match: AJ Lee Vs. Natalya Vs. Naomi Vs. Brie Bella (Night of Champions, 9/15/13) – ** 3/4

Another solid divas match; each woman gets the opportunity to hit her signature moves.  I honestly felt that this match made me want to see each of the three challengers get her own opportunity to challenge AJ one on one for the title.  It’s impressive to see how much Brie Bella has improved, and it’s a crime that Naomi isn’t getting more opportunities in the ring.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2013 DVD - Rhodes Family Battleground

The Shield (Seth Rollins & Roman Reigns) Vs. Cody Rhodes & Goldust (Battleground, 10/6/13) – *** 3/4

At first glance, this match may seem like a fairly standard tag team match, but the emotions help push it over the edge.  This is one of those matches that loses a good deal of its luster when taken out of context.  Knowing that the real-life Rhodes family is coming together to literally fight for their jobs against the men who played a role in getting them fired, you can’t help but get invested in the match.  This makes it much more entertaining.

World Heavyweight Championship Match: Alberto Del Rio Vs. John Cena (Hell in a Cell, 10/27/13) – *** 1/2

While Cena and Del Rio have had a lot of matches in the past, this is probably my favorite match between the two.  As I mentioned earlier, it’s difficult to make Cena look like an underdog nowadays, but they do a good job here coming off of Cena’s elbow injury.  Del Rio looks like the same ruthless guy he was when he faced Ziggler, which makes the underdog story work.  I found myself hoping that Cena would “overcome the odds”, which isn’t something I do too often.

WWE Championship Hell in a Cell Match: Randy Orton Vs. Daniel Bryan (Guest Ref: Shawn Michaels) (Hell in a Cell, 10/27/13) – *** 1/4

For some reason, Orton and Bryan never had a classic during their series of PPV matches at the end of 2013.  This might have been because of the storyline, but for whatever reason, something prevented me from ever getting too invested in these matches.  My favorite aspects of this match were the things involving HBK and HHH, which probably shows where the highlights of this feud really were.  It’s still a solid match, but I feel like Orton & Bryan were capable of something better.

 

Overall Thoughts:

As is usually the case, I thoroughly enjoyed this installment of Best Pay-Per-View Matches.  As I continued watching through this DVD, I realized that in terms of in-ring wrestling, the WWE may be better now than it has ever been in the past.  There have been a ton of excellent matches.  Overall, this was a great year for WWE, and it shows throughout this DVD.  Of course, there are a few matches that I wish would have been included, but there’s very little that I would have wanted removed.  Simply put, there were too many good matches for just a regular 3-disc set.  The only match that I feel was a questionable choice was the Randy Orton Vs. Big Show match from Extreme Rules.  It was a decent match, but it wasn’t particularly memorable.  Even the divas division is the best it’s ever been; this is the first time that more than one divas match has been included on a Best PPV release, and I enjoyed both of them quite a bit.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2013 DVD - Randy Orton cashing in on Daniel Bryan

Of course, I was a bit disappointed that this wasn’t released on Blu-ray.  I’m guessing this was due to low overall sales numbers, and releasing only a DVD would help cut some production costs.  Honestly, I wouldn’t be surprised if this trend continues into 2014; we should probably be happy we are still getting home video releases outside of the major PPV’s in the first place.  Regardless, if you don’t already own all the PPV DVD’s from this year, then I would highly recommend picking this set up.  If you’re someone who has given up on modern-day WWE, I think this DVD will help change your mind about the quality of the in-ring product.  Every match on here is solid, and you get three modern classics.  I watched almost the entire DVD in one day; I think that should say something!

 
Get your copy :: Amazon.com.   WWEShop.com.

UK/Europe/Australia :: WWEDVD.co.uk.   WWEDVD.com.au.




New WWE DVDs on Amazon.co.uk


20
Leave your comments!

avatar
newest oldest most voted
Jeff Copeland
WDN Reader
Jeff Copeland

just picked this up not bad some choices like divas i would of left off for like jericho punk or even ryback cena from payback or rules or rvd vs del zzzzzzz from payback but its all right if u want few good matches from 2013 and btw waaa waa no blu ray oh waaa waa Vincenzzzzzo you are only one i see that makes a big deal about no bluray if u are so >.< about it complain to wwe insted of ranting on here

Shane C. Montgomery
WDN Reader
Shane C. Montgomery

Grow up man. Very immature of you.

Anan
WDN Reader
Anan

Sorry for the double post.

I kidna of also wish they’d have matches from every PPV of the year included. Survivor Series and TLC are missing from this set. Who is going to buy the full PPV on DVD to watch just a few matches and skip over the rest? I’m just saying.

Anan
WDN Reader
Anan

I like this sets too because I don’t watch every PPV or buy it when WWE releases it. SO it’s nice to have most of the best matches on one set for people like me. Every set always had something missing though. The 2012 edition did not include any Punk/Jericho match. This time, the Punk/Jericho match (from Payback) which was like their series in 2012, one of the highlights of the year is missing again.

Can’t argue with most of what is included though.

upsidown
WDN Reader
upsidown

If they are going to start dropping the blu-rays in the states, how about just putting all the matches on the DVDs as well, like they used to, so that both products are equal in content.

Roaster
WDN Reader
Roaster

No Chris Jericho still baffles me. Did the same thing last year. What’s up with that?

Jeff Copeland
WDN Reader
Jeff Copeland

i am guessing cause hes not a full time superstar anymore but yet rock and taker are on it so humm CONSPIRCY :o!!!!

Isrs4life
WDN Reader
Isrs4life

I bought this dvd set the other day and got a great copy of it at Walmart had the exact
amount for it in cash did not have to use my debit but i’ll have to find a time to watch this
DVD set all thow I do like watching wrestling on wednesdays have watched some other dvd
sets on that pacific day of the week and watch a disk each week of this set I know i’ll enjoy it.

SRB
WDN Reader
SRB

So let’s say the running time of the set is 7 hours and 20 minutes give or take. I’m interested in people’s opinions as to why these sets are getting shorter and shorter. Someone brought up the point that an early Flair set was about 10 hours long. What gives? And I’m with Vincenzzzzzo, this is a lacking set if there ever was one with picture quality and jordan Cassatt makes a great point about the TLC match.

Steve213
WDN Reader
Steve213

Because the WWE now shoots in HD the footage takes up more space on the discs.

Derp
WDN Reader
Derp

I aint buying that… Early DVD/Bluray releases contained the same amount of footage (thinking WM 24/25 releases), it was only in the last year or so that the DVD runtimes were significantly shorter than bluray, and it had more to do with marketing and pushing BD over DVD. Now that they are cutting out BD releases, I see no reason to not increase the runtimes back to 2.5 to 3 hours for each DVD in the set. PPVs generally run that length and are ONLY released on DVD here in North America

UKno1WWE=FAN
WDN Reader
UKno1WWE=FAN

If you want the 8-9 hr sets get the blu-ray edition of whatever they are releasing i.e for this best ppv matches 2013 import the blu-ray edition from the UK at least that version its running time is around 8hrs 50 mins and it even has Punk v Jericho from Payback 2013 as Blu-ray exclusive other than that steve213 is right since WWE has shot in HD they have to make the dvd running time quite short due to fact if more footage was present there would be more pixellation, with blu-ray’s thats not a concern but for dvd it… Read more »

Steven Jackson
WDN Reader
Steven Jackson

A great review Joe as always. Because I live in the UK, I am angling on buying the Blu-ray (even though I don’t buy them due to not having a Blu-Ray Player I have a PS3 instead) simply because of the additional matches on it. Even if I don’t I’ll still get this set regardless as it looks great.

jordan Cassatt
WDN Reader
jordan Cassatt

They should have really waited to release this set till January or February. The Championship match from TLC should be on here!!

Vincenzzzzzo
WDN Reader
Vincenzzzzzo

Take a look at those blurry DVD screen shots…. Would look alot better on Blu-ray HD but that’s another story. This DVD release can grow dust on the store racks for all I care. A non-purchase.

Matt
WDN Reader
Matt

I agree mostly with your review but I thought that AJ vs Kaitlyn was ***1/2 and Cena/Rock 2 was *1/2 In my opinion. Still it’s a great dvd.

More of the latest Wrestling DVD News...    

REVIEW: WWE ‘AJ Styles – Most Phenomenal Matches’ DVD; Setting Standard for Current Stars
REVEALED: Cover Artwork for WWE EVOLUTION DVD, Photos of ‘AJ Styles – Most Phenomenal Matches’
HALLOWEEN REVIEW: WWE Hell in a Cell 2018 DVD (2 Disc Set) – Memorable And Mutilating!
REVEALED: First WWE Home Video Release for 2019, Introducing WWE DVD & Blu-Ray Classic Content
Available Now: Photos of WWE’s New HELL IN A CELL 2018 DVD, Review of SUMMERSLAM on Blu-Ray
EXCLUSIVE: Cover Artwork & Special Features for WWE Super Show-Down DVD – 5 HHH/Taker Extras!