REVIEW: WWE ‘Kevin Owens – Fight Owens Fight’ DVD/Blu-Ray; 15 Matches That Made A Prizefighter

July 5, 2017 by Mark Armstrong

WWE 'Kevin Owens: Fight Owens Fight' DVD - Reviewed!

Over the last 2 ½ years, Kevin Owens has become one of WWE’s most vital performers.

Actually, he achieved this distinction a lot sooner than that, possessing an ability to have you cheering for him one minute and detesting him the next, whilst showcasing moves and charisma which allow him to capture your attention instantly. In that time, Owens has put on plenty of great matches, delivered memorable promos ranging from chillingly serious to truly hilarious, and entered into some of the most memorable feuds of the last few years.

“Fight Owens Fight – The Kevin Owens Story” covers all of this and more, with a documentary portion (which lasts one hour almost to the exact second) discussing Owens’ highs and lows on the independent circuit (most notably his stint in Ring of Honor and his friendship with Sami Zayn, which turned into a blistering in-ring feud in ROH when Kevin Steen declared war on El Generico) before moving onto his successful WWE career. Along with the main feature are several bonus segments which are well worth watching, and a bunch of matches from 2014 to 2017.

So, Mark D just covered the documentary in a separate in-depth review — it’s now time to put the spotlight on the additional 15 matches that make up the “Fight Owens Fight” DVD and Blu-ray.

WWE - Kevin Owens Alone in Dark Locker Door Backstage

AVAILABLE NOW!! Grab a copy of the KO DVD/Blu-ray – Amazon.com (USA); Amazon.co.uk (UK)

 
DVD Matches

NXT Takeover: R-Evolution – December 11, 2014
Kevin Owens vs. CJ Parker

Kicking things off is Kevin’s NXT debut against CJ Parker (remember him?). It’s a perfect showcase of Owens for a debut match, and he performs brilliantly while playing a babyface (something which Owens hasn’t done since in WWE). Arguably the most memorable moment comes from Parker’s brief flurry of offence, where he accidentally breaks Owens’ nose with a stiff palm strike. Still, the focus is all on KO, and his debut couldn’t have gone much better (broken nose aside).

NXT Takeover: Rival – February 11, 2015
NXT Championship Match
Sami Zayn (C) vs. Kevin Owens

Owens would turn on best friend Sami Zayn minutes after he captured the NXT title that same night in a superb angle, which led to their encounter here for the same championship. It starts slow and builds up nicely to its dramatic ending, which emphasizes Sami’s never-say-die spirit while casting Owens as a true villain and a callous, dangerous competitor.

WWE 'Kevin Owens: Fight Owens Fight' DVD - Beating Sami Zayn for NXT Title
WWE 'Kevin Owens: Fight Owens Fight' DVD - vs. John Cena at Elimination Chamber

WWE Elimination Chamber 2015 – May 31, 2015
John Cena vs. Kevin Owens

Following two promo segments where Owens confronts Zayn and Cena respectively, it’s onto the first Owens-Cena battle from Elimination Chamber. I personally thought that their Money in the Bank outing was the best of their rivalry, but this is still an exceptional clash, and with the shocking result (Owens pinning Cena in his main roster debut, and pinning him clean too), this more than warrants an inclusion on this collection.

WWE Night Of Champions 2015 – September 20, 2015
Intercontinental Championship Match
Ryback (C) vs. Kevin Owens

This is a basic match which serves its purpose of providing the platform for Owens to capture his first title since joining the main roster. It isn’t bad, but it’s a definite step down from Owens’ battle with Cena (though it’s still superior to their subsequent clash at Hell in a Cell).

WWE Royal Rumble 2016 – January 29, 2016
Intercontinental Championship Last Man Standing Match
Dean Ambrose (C) vs. Kevin Owens

This Last Man Standing match follows the same formula as most LMS matches in WWE, with big weapon spots and dramatic false finishes (I can’t say near-falls since it’s an LMS bout). The main thing which makes this one stand out is the topnotch action, which brings this underrated feud to a great finale. It also helps that the Orlando crowd are well into this from beginning to end.

WWE Main Event – April 12, 2016
Kevin Owens vs. Dolph Ziggler

Next up is a match which was televised, but which only a certain percentage of fans may have seen since it took place on Main Event (hey, RAW, SmackDown and NXT alone take up six hours of one’s life per week). This is a fun match between two fairly familiar foes, and a reminder that Dolph can still shine despite his chances of achieving true main event status in WWE having long evaporated (not that he’s to blame, mind you).

WWE 'Kevin Owens: Fight Owens Fight' DVD - vs. Dolph Ziggler on Main Event
WWE 'Kevin Owens: Fight Owens Fight' DVD - vs. Tagging with Triple H in Paris, France Dark Match

WWE – April 22, 2016
Kevin Owens & Triple H vs. Sami Zayn & Dean Ambrose

One of the best aspects about DVDs such as this is the inclusion of some matches which would otherwise not be seen. This next match is a good example, as Triple H and Kevin Owens form a rare tag team against Sami Zayn and Dean Ambrose. Apparently, HHH replaced The Undertaker on this European tour (Taker would obviously have not teamed with heel KO), for reasons which were never truly explained.

WWE Battleground – July 24, 2016
Kevin Owens vs. Sami Zayn

It’s probably redundant at this point to suggest that Owens and Zayn would put on a thrilling match, since they always do when allotted more than a couple of minutes. However, this is still a terrific battle, and the best match between the two in a WWE ring. Though this didn’t truly end their rivalry as the hype suggested, it’s still one of the top encounters of last year.

WWE - Kevin Owens & Triple H Celebrates Universal Title Win!

RAW – August 29, 2016
Universal Championship Fatal Four Way Elimination Match
Seth Rollins vs. Roman Reigns vs. Kevin Owens vs. Big Cass

The best RAW main event of 2016, this four-way clash (which was given plenty of time) was already shaping up to be a great one even before the hugely shocking ending which saw the totally unexpected return of Triple H to not only deny Roman Reigns the title (hey, did Roman ever seek retribution for that?), but to also turn on longtime protégé Seth Rollins. Thus comes Owens’ crowning moment to date so far in WWE.

WWE Hell in a Cell 2016 – October 30, 2016
Universal Championship Hell In A Cell Match
Kevin Owens (C) vs. Seth Rollins

Though the matches between Owens and Rollins didn’t blow anybody away (partly because each one ended with interference), they were still well worth watching. The best of the bunch is here as the two meet inside Hell In A Cell, which includes a couple of truly hair-raising spots.

WWE - Kevin Owens with One Finger on Rope, WrestleMania 33

WWE WrestleMania 33 – April 2, 2017
United States Championship Match
Chris Jericho (C) vs. Kevin Owens

Besides a brief acknowledgement of the team in passing during the documentary, JeriKO are not shown on this DVD in any way whatsoever! However, we do get their WrestleMania 33 showdown which culminated the long-running “best friends” storyline. It’s another enjoyable match and a neat way to round off the collection, though it’s a shade below other bouts featured here.

 
Blu-ray Exclusive Matches

NXT – February 18, 2015
NXT Championship Match
Kevin Owens (C) vs. Adrian Neville

A forgotten gem from NXT, this is a reminder that there was more to KO’s NXT stint than his feuds with Sami Zayn and Finn Bálor. It’s also one of Neville’s final matches on NXT before joining the main roster.

WWE 'Kevin Owens: Fight Owens Fight' Blu-ray Exclusive Match - vs. Neville in NXT

Payback – May 1, 2016
Kevin Owens vs. Sami Zayn

This is another superb battle between the longtime friends-turned-rivals. Although their Battleground clash would be even better this is still an awesome match, and the best bout of what was a strong PPV event.

WWE 'Kevin Owens: Fight Owens Fight' Blu-ray Exclusive Match - vs. Sami Zayn, Payback 2016

RAW – September 12, 2016
Kevin Owens vs. Roman Reigns

This match inclusion is slightly strange considering that their Royal Rumble showdown would be the best of their eventual feud. But it’s still a watchable affair, and being previously unreleased adds to its appeal.

WWE 'Kevin Owens: Fight Owens Fight' Blu-ray Exclusive Match - vs. Roman Reigns on RAW

RAW – November 21, 2016
Universal Championship No Disqualification Match
Kevin Owens (C) vs. Seth Rollins

Some people considered the Owens vs. Rollins feud to be a failure, but I disagree because their matches were never less than adequate. This No DQ match definitely has its moments to shine, as well as a hot Toronto crowd to further boost the excitement levels.

WWE - Seth Rollins Dives Off RAW Stage on to Kevin Owens!

 

The Verdict

This is a great set for any Kevin Owens fan. The documentary is one of the best that WWE has put out in recent times. The bonus segments are very in-depth and end up almost doubling the running time of the main feature. And the selection of matches is sufficient, with several great encounters highlighting KO’s most pivotal moments since joining WWE in late 2014.

Some may have been disappointed that there aren’t any complete matches from Kevin’s days on the indies – that is a shame, but only to be expected at this point (and who knows, perhaps one or two may end up on a future KO DVD). The most promising thing about watching this DVD is that Owens will likely be a part of WWE for many years from now, suggesting that the best may still be yet to come from the Prizefighter. Whether you’ve followed Kevin’s career since his days in ROH and PWG, or if you’ve just become a fan of his over the last few years, you’ll love “Fight Owens Fight”.

WWE 'Fight Owens Fight: The Kevin Owens Story' DVD & Blu-ray - Main Menu

 
Grab a copy of WWE’s new “KEVIN OWENS – Fight Owens Fight” DVD…

 
USA: NOW! Grab your “Fight Owens Fight” DVD or Blu-ray right now here on Amazon.com.

UK/Europe: NOW! Grab your “Fight Owens Fight” DVD or Blu-ray right now on Amazon.co.uk.

Australia: August 15th. Your opportunity to pre-order the KO DVD is live at Madman.com.au.

 

 




New WWE DVDs on Amazon.co.uk


39 Comments on "REVIEW: WWE ‘Kevin Owens – Fight Owens Fight’ DVD/Blu-Ray; 15 Matches That Made A Prizefighter"

avatar
Sort comments by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Brett mix
WDN Reader
Brett mix

I haven’t read a review in years, I come here to find out someone referenced my reviews, on the very day I check this out….weird. Thanks Bryan G. Hope your doing well Danny, btw this DVD looks good.

Daniel Bee
WDN Admin
Daniel Bee

Surrrrrrrreeeee. Bet you are always lurking here Mix. Kidding, hope all is well with you too. Blast from the past 😀

Bryan G
WDN Reader
Bryan G

God forbid we give matches star ratings or anything. Still miss Brett Mix’s old reviews of DVDs and events, because you mother f***ers don’t know how to actually review matches for s**t. Documentaries yeah you do good with that, matches why do you even bother?

Daniel Bee
WDN Admin
Daniel Bee

Hey potty mouth (had to * all your language), you appear to be the only one here complaining about the review style.

Indyfan
WDN Reader
Indyfan

In all honesty, I wish you guys used star ratings. But I’m not going to complain about it. I still check Bret’s old reviews. I just want to know before I buy a set how many great matches are on it j7dged by star ratings. And yes I know it’s subjective, but eventually you see how a reviewer judges and you can gauge it compared to the way you would.

Bryan G
WDN Reader
Bryan G

You should use your little stars (*) to signify how good or bad a match is. An example of how to use * ‘s to rate things, your website news and info rating is ***** your review rating is ** at best. See how that works? Glad we cleared that up.

Daniel Bee
WDN Admin
Daniel Bee

Clever. 🙂 There are ways and means to let us hear feedback on what we do, your approach probably wasn’t the best.

I stick to the point I was trying to make that our recent reviews have been pretty well received. The “Brett Mix” style hasn’t been seen here for over 5 years – time flies!

Bryan G
WDN Reader
Bryan G

You do have to admit people love scores. Whether they agree with them or not people love Rotten Tomatoes, Metacritic, IGN, ect ect. Just because you say a match is a certain rating (even if you’re Dave Meltzer) doesn’t mean that’s the final say it’s just a barometer or one persons opinion. We do like reading opinions top 100 movies lists, best matches lists, movie reviews with scores. It’s just an idea people like scores and opinions even if they don’t always agree.

Bryan G
WDN Reader
Bryan G

No I’m the only one with the sack to tell you your review style for matches SUCKS! Don’t like my opinion too bad get over it or find a better reviewer. You had one a few years back.

Jeff Copeland
WDN Reader
Jeff Copeland
just finshed the entire bluray last night. over all really good bio bit short could of been 30 minutes longer talk about his feuds with jericho bit or roman and stuff but over all good. matches eh not… bad.. but i would of liked to see 5 way where he wins ic title back for his 2nd reign, or fastlane vs ziggler for the ic titl rumble vs roman no dq would of been nice. like honesty only match bluray extra i would of added is 3rd match in owens jericho series from smackdown where he wins his 2nd u.s… Read more »
Anan
WDN Reader
Anan

Agree with lines 2-11. During the Jericho feud, KO spoke about he and/or his son looked up to him. Wish that was included in the doc too along with the Friendship storyline, one of the best in the 3 hour RAW era.

Had they waited longer to release the set, could’ve included his matches on SDL with Jericho, Nakamura, AJ Styles.

Minor stuff aside, great set w/o question.

Anan
WDN Reader
Anan
Undeniably a great wonderful set. Considering how much I enjoyed watching this, I can only wish they waited a bit longer. He hasn’t been in WWE, even if u include his NXT run, for 10 years yet. As Mark Armstrong put it, KO’s likely gonna be part of WWE for years to come so his best may still be yet to come. In the meantime, documentary sets on long deserving talents who haven’t gotten one like Kane, Rock, Booker T, Tatanka, Kevin Nash, Sid, Vader, Rick Martel, RnR Express, Ted DiBiase, Rick Rude, Andre the Giant, a proper & positive… Read more »
Foley Is Good
WDN Reader
Foley Is Good

True Giants Blu-ray has mini docs on Sid, Vader, Nash, and Andre. And I think there is rumors HBO is making an Andre The Giant documentary. And Jake Roberts put out his own documentary I believe.

Anan
WDN Reader
Anan

Does it? Didn’t see it so didn’t know that. Thanks for letting me know. However mini docs aren’t the same length as an actual wwe doc.

Jake….i think u mean The Resurrection doc. Idk that he did it himself. I thought DDP helped him with that?

Richard
WDN Reader
Richard
I seriously doubt that WWE would waste time putting out complete DVD sets on older talent that: A. Don’t appear to be critical to WWE history (Tatanka? Sid? Vader?) B. Didn’t make their biggest mark in WWE or as a WWE Creation (RNR Express, Rick martel) They continue to put out Rick Rude’s name as a potential DVD subject, so that’s more likely. Booker T had an excellent 24 doc on the Network, so that’s still possible. DiBiase is more of a long shot, but possible. Kevin Nash? No thanks. An official Andre doc from WWE is possible, but I… Read more »
brandon vendetta
WDN Reader
brandon vendetta

I’ve been hearing about this HBO doc on Andre for months now. When the hell is it supposed to be finished??

Anan
WDN Reader
Anan
Good Q. Might already be finished. I thought it was supposed to be available for viewing sometime this year??? ESPN also did projects on XFL and Ric Flair. Because he meant so much to Sting’s career, he practically made him, Sting should be on there to comment as should Charlotte, Ricky Steamboat as they had a storied rivalry back in the day. Taker is scheduled to be on there. I suspect HHH will be too as he’s stated many times he looked up to Ric. Guess HBK will on shown as well, if for no other reason, then when/if the… Read more »
Anan
WDN Reader
Anan
I’d agree with you except LOD got a doc, Ric Flair got more than one set, Goldberg gor a collection set, Sting got a collection set and later a doc. These names, most especially Sting are more remembered for their time in the wrestling business outside WWE, like Sting in WCW bc most of his career was there. Brian Pillman didn’t spend much time in WWE and neither did DDP. Docs were released on them. This to me proves that it doesn’t matter how critical you are to WWE’s history or how long you spent there. If Vince is a… Read more »
Richard
WDN Reader
Richard
The examples you gave of talent who starred in WCW were names critical to a major talking point in WWE history: the Monday Night War. WWE LOVES to re-hash the MNW story, most obviously because they won, but many of the names you listed were critical to that narrative: Sting – A massive name, regardless of company. LOD – See Sting. Ric Flair – C’mon… DDP – Huge star during MNW; key to Hall & Jake stories Goldberg – See Sting Pillman is an odd choice, but he was clearly well liked within the company and a ligtning rod for… Read more »
Anan Khalique
WDN Reader
Anan Khalique
I already explained why I wanted a Tatanka doc. Never said it’d actually happen though. Basically it’s just a personal want. Nothing more, nothing less. We all have those. As the saying goes, can’t always get what you want so I’ve accepted the Tatanka doc will probably not happen via disc release. But it’s a bit possible if at all with The Network that if nothing else an interview or something of the sort may happen. Again if it doesn’t, that’s ok. My life doesn’t hang in the balance of a personal want after all. Didn’t he spend some time… Read more »
Richard
WDN Reader
Richard
I’d love to see a Bruno doc, which I’ve heard at various times was happening, but new interviews for the WWEN may be the extent of that. The DVD market for a variety of things is dying a long, slow death. Even the advent of bluray wasn’t going to help it as so much entertainment now is digital. I’m actually quite surprised they still do it to be quite honest. I wasn’t infering RNR or Martel were present during the actual MNW era, but if they had been even CLOSE to that during their respective primes, it’s possible Vince would… Read more »
Anan
WDN Reader
Anan
Bruno….agree with everything u said on him. But to your earlier point on the MNW, we both know he was long retired and I guess out of the whole industry as he didn’t like the direction it went in by the time the MNW began. In his mind, it wasn’t “true wrestling.” Still he’s a big legendary name who’s story deserves to be told. Same can be said for William Regal. I mean, if Bischoff & Heyman can get a doc, certainly Regal can! Let’s be serious here lol!! I think WWE still puts out multi-disc sets bc while I… Read more »
brandon vendetta
WDN Reader
brandon vendetta

I think it’s safe to say there will never be a doc on tatanka and Rick Martel. Don’t think Sid deserves one either he sucked real bad. Other than that I agree on the rest of em.

Indyfan
WDN Reader
Indyfan

I’d love to see a set with Martel. Especially with Strike Force matches. I’d rather that than Rude since there are plenty of Rude matches out there. Martel is criminally under-rated.

Anan
WDN Reader
Anan

That may have been more popular but I loved his time as The Model most.

David
WDN Reader
David

Sid might have not been a great ring worker but was massively over and played his character perfectly. Sid was cheered in front of the smarkiest crowd in the world MSG, whereas HBK (an excellent worker) was booed out the building.

Anan
WDN Reader
Anan

Wow. Great points!! I can remember Sid’s WM13 entrance, him & the fans high fiving or whatever it was and asking him who’s the man to which they all pointed at him saying you are. And he was a heel by this point and defending the world title against the over fan favorite, The Undertaker.

Anan
WDN Reader
Anan
I respect your thoughts & appreciate you sharing them. Thank u for that. Just bc i may not agree with your thoughts does not mean I’m gonna “troll” on them and give the typical internet response one gives when they disagree. I’m sure u know what I’m talking about. It’s pointless. Its just a discussion about something we don’t have control over much if at all depending on how one looks at it. I have to ask though why don’t u think Martel will get one? In his day, one of the best in the ring. I liked Tatanka so… Read more »
brandon vendetta
WDN Reader
brandon vendetta
Well no to Bradshaw I don’t think it would sell plus I hate him. Dynamite kid would never do a WWE doc I assume he’s still bitter and don’t think that they would ever even consider doing a doc with him but I’d buy it if they did. Chyna is a definite no she did so much porn the PG WWE would probably never even consider a doc on her either but that would be another one I’d buy if they did. Hardyz don’t need another one don’t think that will happen. Agree with you on the rest especially demolition… Read more »
Anan
WDN Reader
Anan
I could be wrong but I think this concussion lawsuit against wwe whether its still ongoing or not, I believe Demolition & Dynamite Kid were on the opposing side so if anything that may prove that they still have problems with wwe & that wwe won’t do sets on them. Chyna…true but bc of fan demand & the demands of those in the industry, even Sean Waltman and HHH stated she deserves a HOF induction. Despite her past, should she end up in there than I think the chances of a doc on her being done by them increases despite… Read more »
Jack Viga
WDN Reader
Jack Viga

You might wanna watch The Resurrection of Jake the Snake documentary if you haven’t yet.

Anan
WDN Reader
Anan

I did. Loved it. But bc he spent a good amount of time in wrestling, the famous portions of his career if not his entire career being owned by WWE, they should have a more positive doc on him ovet Pick Your Poison. Reviews on that claimed the doc was negative, “buried” him, focused “too much” on his addictions for what was supposed to be a wrestling doc.

Paul Wagner
WDN Reader
Paul Wagner

Tatanka? Yeah i doubt anyone wants to see a doco on him. Nash and Sid? Both reek of boooring zzzz unless it’s Sid talking about his weird moments and botched kick that snapped his leg like a twig. A Booker T set is long overdue, same with Rick Rude.

The Rock already got a documentary on his Epic Journey of Dwayne Johnson. It was very detailed.

whutwhut
WDN Reader
whutwhut

Kevin Nash was a huge star during the 90’s peak though. a set about him would not be totally unlikely.

Anan
WDN Reader
Anan

True 🙂

Anan
WDN Reader
Anan

Along with Booker T & Rude, RnR Express, Kane & Ted Dibiase to name a few are also long overdue. Out of those names, 3 are HOFers. Whether that’s only in WWE’s HOF, idk for dure but I suspect they got into other pro wrestling HOFs. One’s a lock. The other is long overdue for an induction.

Forgot about the Rock set. But you’re right. After all the releases, easy to forget things like this haha!

Dale Wolf
WDN Reader
Dale Wolf

I’d like to see more match reviews for future sets.

RabidHeat
WDN Reader
RabidHeat

I think it’s fair for ROH, PWG and CZW not to provide full matches for the bonus features – they have their own DVDs to sell so they’re hardly gonna let WWE release those in full. Allowing clips to be shown on WWE releases promotes their own DVDs for the full matches, so it’s good advertising.

Great review though, thanks. :). I’m sure it’s a fantastic doc, I just can’t get past this thing about it being way too soon for a doc on him. I’ll watch or at some point or pick it up when it’s cheaper though.

Jeff Copeland
WDN Reader
Jeff Copeland

i see what you saying about too soon doc for him same could be said for seth rollins.

But hey jericho angle got vhs bios back in 2000s barley a year into there carrers and even morrsion got a random on in 2009 or 2008 so eh.

i picked owens bluray over seth dvd cause of bio and matches i did not already have

wpDiscuz

More of the latest Wrestling DVD News...    

CONFIRMED: WWE To Release ‘The Best of NXT 2017’ DVD Next Year; First Release Date Scheduled
REVEALED: Details on WWE’s 2018 Hardy Boyz DVD, New NXT DVD Today; Release Date For The Next?
REVIEW: ‘Vince Russo’s Attitude’ DVD – The Series Premiere, Starring Ken Shamrock
REVIEW: WWE ‘NXT: From Secret to Sensation’ DVD & Blu-Ray – Besides The Name, It’s… GLORIOUS!
REVEALED: Intro to ‘NXT: From Secret to Sensation’, More Pre-Release Photos of November WWE DVDs
EXCLUSIVE: Pre-Release Photos of WWE ‘NXT: From Secret to Sensation’ DVD – In Stores Next Week!