Review: WWE ‘Triple H: Thy Kingdom Come’ DVD & Blu-Ray

September 28, 2013 by Joe Israel

WWE Triple H Thy Kingdom Come DVD Logo

When the 2013 WWE DVD schedule was released early in the year, the Triple H set was the one that jumped out to me the most.  It’s surprising that we haven’t gotten a comprehensive look at his career yet, and I knew that the WWE would go all out in producing this one.  Triple H has never been my favorite wrestler in the world, but he’s always been a very solid in-ring worker, and he’s had a storied career.  My interest was piqued further when site contributors Mark D and Shaun Blackford spoke so highly of it.  While I did enjoy the set, I can’t say I enjoyed it as much as they did, and ultimately I was a bit underwhelmed. 

The documentary runs 2 hours, 7 minutes, and Disc 1 contains over 2 hours of bonus matches.  Disc 2 runs 3 hours, with 90 minutes of Blu-ray exclusive extras.  The set is TV-14, and the only noticeable edit was Undertaker’s entrance music at Backlash 2001.


 

“Time to Play the Game…”: The Documentary

Since Triple H clearly does not know what is good for business, I’m going to start this review by answering a few questions in the style of Daniel Bryan.

Will you learn something watching this documentary? YES! YES! YES!

Does it hit the key points of The Game’s career? YES! YES! YES!

Is there an overall narrative arc? NO! NO! NO!

Did I get a little bored? YES! YES! YES!

WWE Triple H New DX Army

I think this hits on the key plusses and minuses from the documentary.  Like almost any WWE documentary produced nowadays, you’re going to learn some things that you didn’t already know.  The documentary does a nice job picking out the key points of Triple H’s career, but we’ve heard about some of this material a lot.  The stuff that we haven’t heard about a million times was easily the strongest part of the doc.  His start in WCW, the backstory behind his relationship with Stephanie McMahon, and his current role backstage for WWE were the most interesting parts to me.  I also was really interested to hear Triple H and Shawn Michaels discuss the “PG era” of D-Generation X, and why they thought it worked.  I was never a fan of this era of DX, and the interview did help me to look at them in a bit of a new light.  It was odd just how much time was given to his role in a couple of unmemorable WWE films; this was probably the toughest part to sit through.

WWE Triple H Thy Kingdom Come DVD Interviews

As always, the WWE chose great subjects to interview, but this also leads to one of the biggest issues with the doc.  While Triple H is a smart, talented guy, he isn’t the most charismatic interview subject.  The charisma that oozes out of guys like Chris Jericho, Paul Heyman, or Stone Cold helped to keep their respective documentaries more lively, and Triple H simply isn’t on this level when giving an interview.  Let me be clear that this doesn’t mean I thought the interview was dull.  He told some great stories, he just isn’t as lively as those others.  In terms of interviews, the real highlight was finally getting to hear from The Undertaker on a WWE DVD release.  I really hope we get a career retrospective with him soon, because he clearly has some stories to tell, and held nothing back in the all too few times he was featured on the DVD.

As I hinted at in my questions above, the single biggest issue with the documentary is that, for lack of a better way to put this, it doesn’t have a compelling reason to exist beyond “Triple H is a great wrestler”.  All of the best WWE docs have some sort of overarching story to tell.  For the CM Punk doc, it was about the outsider overcoming the odds and reaching the peak of the WWE.  For Edge, it was about living out a boyhood dream that started in the crowd at WrestleMania VI.  For Austin, it was about a wrestler who constantly had adversity thrown at him, and how he overcome it.  Triple H simply doesn’t have a similarly compelling through-line for his career.  This is a similar issue to what, in my opinion, really hurt The Rock’s documentary from early 2012.  While it serves as a nice career retrospective, there’s nothing overly special about it.  Triple H has had a fairly standard career.  The biggest wrinkle to his career is that he ended up marrying his boss’s daughter, and, as I mentioned, this ends up being a highlight of the documentary.  Because his in-ring career was fairly straightforward, the parts of the documentary that focus heavily on this got a bit dull.  Usually these documentaries fly by, but this one felt a little long at some points in the middle.  It’s not like I was close to falling asleep out of boredom, but it didn’t keep me on the edge of my seat like a lot of the other documentaries.

Triple H Backstage at NXT Performance Center

It may sound like I am being super negative about the documentary, but I did enjoy it overall.  I had very high hopes, though, and I don’t think it lives up to the standards set by some of the other documentaries.  A large reason for this is that the subject matter, quite frankly, hasn’t had as “interesting” a career as some of his counterparts in regards to drama or controversy.  Sure, there were moments here or there that make for interesting stories, and it is nice to see those.  If I were to have a power rankings of all documentaries from WWE, my guess is this would fall somewhere in the 11-20 range.  It’s solid, but not in that upper echelon of docs.

 

“That Damn Good”: The Matches

WCW Triple H Vs Ricky Steamboat

Jean-Paul Levesque Vs. Ricky Steamboat (WCW Saturday Night, 9/3/94) – **

This was a very academic match.  A lot of the basics are executed here, and while they are executed well, there isn’t anything more than that.  A neat relic from history, though.

Hunter Hearst Helmsley Vs. Dude Love (One Night Only, 9/97) – **

This was one of my least favorite matches I’ve seen between these two men.  It’s very slow, and gets a bit boring, especially in the middle part.  By this point, Helmsley and Mankind had already wrapped up their great feud, and this just felt like a leftover.

WWF Judgment Day 2000 Triple H Rock Iron Man Match

WWE Championship Iron Man Match: The Rock Vs. Triple H (Judgment Day, 5/21/00) – *** 3/4

I never got bored over the course of the hour, so I need to give Rock & Triple H credit for that.  There are a lot of fun moments throughout the match, even if they don’t flow together perfectly.  I don’t think the storytelling was nearly as strong here as we’ve seen in other Iron Man matches.  Also, the ending, although memorable, is a disappointing way to cap off the singles feud between these two.

No Disqualification Match: Triple H Vs. Kurt Angle (Unforgiven, 9/24/00) – ***

While this is a fun match to watch, there is something a bit off about it.  I enjoyed the whole soap opera aspect of this storyline, but the story was about two “bad guys” fighting over a “bad woman”.  While this type of match can work at times, there was a lot going on here.  Still, it’s always entertaining to see these two in the ring together.

WWE Power Trip - Triple H & Stone Cold Steve Austin

All Championships on the Line: Triple H & Stone Cold Steve Austin Vs. The Undertaker & Kane (Backlash, 4/29/01) – ** 1/2

One of the few good things to come out of Austin’s heel turn was the Two Man Power Trip; they made a fun team.  This match is a very basic tag team match, though, with nothing special going on.  The fact that it then is given about 25-30 minutes actually hurts the match, and it gets a bit dull.

WWE Triple H vs. RVD Raw

World Heavyweight Championship Match: Triple H Vs. Rob Van Dam (Raw, 6/30/03) – ** 3/4

This was a fun title match, especially for a TV match.  I thought this was a great match choice to represent the Evolution/World Heavyweight Champ era for Triple H.  There is a lot of chicanery going on, and Triple H screws someone out of the title like he did so many times in this era.

World Heavyweight Championship Last Man Standing Match: Triple H Vs. Shawn Michaels (Royal Rumble, 1/25/04) – *** 1/2

My thoughts on this particular gimmick match have been well documented on this site.  I just don’t find it that exciting to watch a ref repeatedly try to count to 10.  If anyone can make that exciting, though, it’s HBK.  The anger between the two men is tangible here, but the blood is a bit excessive.  They use the blood as a way to create drama, rather than add to it.

Road to WrestleMania Tournament Match: Triple H Vs. Ric Flair (Raw, 2/6/06) – * 3/4

A very strange choice for the DVD.  While Triple H and Flair have plenty of history, this is a nothing match.  It’s short, and not all that exciting.  The only major “bust” on the DVD extras.

WWE Triple H vs King Booker SummerSlam

Triple H Vs. King Booker (SummerSlam, 8/26/07) – **

For some reason, I felt like this match was going in slow motion the entire time.  Triple H and Booker are each solid wrestlers, but for some reason they didn’t work very well together.  It also is interesting to note the reception Triple H gets for his return here as compared to his return on Raw in 2002.  The video packages make it clear the WWE was trying really hard to get the same huge reaction, but it just doesn’t work.

WWE Triple H vs. Randy Orton

WWE Championship Last Man Standing Match: Triple H Vs. Randy Orton (No Mercy, 10/7/07) – *** 1/4

Another Last Man Standing match? This one epitomizes why I hate the match type.  Triple H and Orton tell a great story throughout this match, but it becomes disjointed because after each move, we waste a lot of time watching the referee count.  It hurts the flow of an otherwise great match immensely.

Jeff Hardy Vs. Triple H (SmackDown, 11/21/08) – ** 1/2

A solid but unspectacular TV match pitting good guy against good guy.  Not really much else to say about this one.

Triple H Vs. Chris Jericho (Raw, 11/30/09) – **

A fine match, but short and part of the greater storyline between DX and Jeri-Show.  For the sole representation of DX on the bonus features, this wasn’t the best choice.  I would have preferred something from the original DX run, or at least a tag match.

 
Blu-ray Exclusive Match

WWE WrestleMania 29 Triple H vs. Brock Lesnar

No Disqualification Match: Triple H Vs. Brock Lesnar (WrestleMania 29, 4/7/13) – *** 1/2

This is the first time I’ve seen this match since WrestleMania, and it does help when the match doesn’t have to follow up Punk and Taker.  I don’t think this storyline resonated with audiences the way WWE wanted, and that’s another reason the crowd isn’t really into this match.  On its own, it’s better than I remembered, but still not the classic match the WWE billed it as.

 

“Behold…”: The Blu-ray Extras

I always look forward to the bonus stories on these superstar feature Blu-rays.  While the stories wouldn’t fit neatly into the documentary, they are still interesting, and at times can be more interesting.  The stories here are no different.  The highlight is probably Triple H going through his WrestleMania 29 weekend experience.  Besides that, the most memorable thing is probably watching Triple H and Stephanie play the Newlywed Game, which is a fun little extra.  Honestly, I would have preferred another 40 minutes of these extra stories instead of the Lesnar match from Mania.  While that is a pretty good match, nothing beats these little extra stories.

 

“…The King of Kings”: Closing Thoughts

I fear that this review is going to come off more negative than I intend it to, but it’s hard to say that this set wasn’t a bit of a disappointment.  I had pretty high expectations following DVDs like Punk’s or Austin’s, and Triple H simply can’t live up to the crazy stories that those guys have had in their pasts.  There’s nothing “wrong” with the documentary, but it doesn’t do anything to set itself apart either.  I felt very similar to The Rock’s documentary, and if you’ve seen that one, you are going to get the same experience here.  I did watch the documentary in one sitting, but I can’t say the time totally flew by.  It was surprising that I was least interesting when they discussed his in-ring career, but that’s probably because all of the stories are pretty well known, and there isn’t much to add (outside of when The Undertaker finally got to talk about it).  I think most viewers will enjoy the doc overall, but it’s not in the pantheon for me.

WWE Triple H Thy Kingdom Come DVD Interview

While there weren’t any true classics included as the bonus matches, there aren’t any stinkers either.  The only match that really disappointed me was the Flair match, but that was more because of how short it was than anything else.  The highlight is easily the Iron Man match.  While it doesn’t live up to the Hart/Michaels or Angle/Lesnar classics, it still is a very good match in its own right.  I also have to give the WWE credit for giving us very few matches that already exist on compilation sets without making the matches feel like “lower tier” contests.  Most of Triple H’s classic matches were The King of Kings match compilation, and this serves as a nice companion piece.  We still see pretty all of Triple H’s major opponents throughout the course of his career included.  The only thing I would have liked to see included was one of the WrestleMania matches with The Undertaker.  Even though they’ve been released before, they are discussed a lot in the documentary, and for that reason alone deserved a place here.

All that being said, this is still one of the more successful DVD’s WWE has put out this year.  Comparing it to the other big superstar profile we got in 2013, I would say this is a better overall package than the Foley release, but I preferred the documentary on Foley.  If you are a big fan of The Game, this is a no brainer; you’re going to love it.  Even if you aren’t a huge fan, you’ll certainly come out of this with a good deal of respect for Triple H.  There’s no doubt in my mind that he is a smart guy that is great for the business.  I have no doubt that this DVD/Blu-ray will spark a good deal of conversation, so let us know what you thoughts in the comments below.

 
Get your copy :: Amazon.com.   WWEShop.com.

UK/Europe/Australia :: WWEDVD.co.uk.   WWEDVD.com.au.

 




New WWE DVDs on Amazon.co.uk


45 Comments on "Review: WWE ‘Triple H: Thy Kingdom Come’ DVD & Blu-Ray"

avatar

Jeff Copeland
Guest
Jeff Copeland
2 years 10 months ago
well i got this dvd and over all its good u know i think its still kinda empty in spots like skipping some of years like 02 03 04 which was a big time period for him and evolution hum i cant think why they skiped the foley fued unless they covered it pretty much in the foley dvd skipping the austin fued well ehh they had some matches but its not much to tell and there famous 2 out 3 falls is all ready on austin dvd and i think another one they covered the rock fued pretty good… Read more »
Simon
Guest
Simon
2 years 10 months ago
Just received the Blu Ray yesterday so thought I’d add in my views. Overall, it was an entertaining watch – unlike the reviewer, I thought it told a great story. In fact, it was too story focused. I generally prefer these types of docs to go through the guy’s career, but because he’s been around for 18 years, they had no chance of fitting it in to a 127 minute slot. However, there were some key areas that went totally ignored – namely the Foley matches in early 2000 that made his career, and the fact that they didn’t mention… Read more »
Tej Bryant
Guest
Tej Bryant
2 years 10 months ago

@BR who was interviewed for the piece on Chyna? Was HBK interviewed?

Anan
Guest
Anan
2 years 10 months ago
“The only thing I would have liked to see included was one of the WrestleMania matches with The Undertaker. Even though they’ve been released before, they are discussed a lot in the documentary, and for that reason alone deserved a place here.” I agree and was surprised their WM matches were not here. WM’s a big part of Taker’s legacy so I can see every WM match being featured on his set. Maybe that’s why they left it off here even though it should have been included. ” In terms of interviews, the real highlight was finally getting to hear… Read more »
Mike James
Guest
Mike James
2 years 10 months ago

I will get this but I wonder if he buries Chyna? I love how WWE thinks Chyna is the forgetting member of DX, DX was HBK, Triple H, and Chyna in my opinion. Their classic stuff from August 1997- March 1998 was classic and will live forever.

BR
Guest
BR
2 years 10 months ago

They don’t bury her at all. They do nothing but talk about the positives of having her as HHH’s valet, though of course their relationship is never brought up.

Joseph De Feo
Guest
2 years 10 months ago

I won’t say that it was the best DVD/Blu-Ray of 2013 or the best of all time. But between Triple H, Mick Foley & the Top 25 Rivalries, I would say that the best documentary of this year goes to HHH, Foley #2 & the rivalries countdown 3rd. I guarantee you people that a compilation will win best of the year, because there wasn’t much material this year to say ‘tell us some stories’!

Shawn Phelan
Guest
Shawn Phelan
2 years 10 months ago

STEVEN, can you name the four sets the wm28 match has been on? I think you are mistaken because the only ones I can think of are best ppv marches 2012 and the event itself, which youhshouldnt really xoub

aussie22
Member
aussie22
2 years 10 months ago

I cant believe how hated HHH is by most people. He was a very solid worker who should be more respected for living a clean lifestyle and not stuffing up his life like most others.

The 2003 run he had I dont get why people are upset at his reign. Name me someone who should have the belt during that time. Hell he dropped it to Goldberg. I dont get it.

Anan
Guest
Anan
2 years 10 months ago

They hate him because they feel his “married his way” to where he is now. I can see why they think that. But I’ve been of the belief that he earned his way to the top. Taker’s comments here as wel las comments from others illustrate that better than anyone else ever could.

Kijg Shabazz
Guest
Kijg Shabazz
2 years 10 months ago

The fact he became countless amount of times champion after marrying the daughter of the boss’s daughter lost him a lot of points. Who isn’t “that damn good” when u got the company in your back pocket? He never passed the torch to a deserving talent to help make a new era. Good wrestler, yes, great even, but the fact that he chose to let the torch burn his arm off rather than pass it will keep in forever branded as “the guy who married the boss’s daughter” before the “Michael Jordan of wrestling.”

Aaron
Member
Aaron
2 years 10 months ago

So he didn’t tap to Benoit at WMXX, Batista at WM21 or Cena at WM22? He also put over Sheamus, Orton, Hardy, and others. He was very careful who he put over and he made stars of the guys he did.

King shabazz
Guest
King shabazz
2 years 10 months ago
Oh, he tapped to Benoit, but notice how he did it a in a 3 way match. This way, he would be seen as having lost a match where he took on TWO men. As far as michaels not tapping out, it’s the least HHH could do for HBK. after all, michaels positioned him in the spotlight long before his own penis did with the boss’s daughter. I would have loved to see him drop the title to Benoit in a 1 on 1 match since then there would be no excuses. And as far as shamus goes, HHH was… Read more »
wweshoponline
Guest
2 years 4 months ago
Another solid effort from WWE this year, however, solid is about as good as it’s gotten all year! The documentary portion is one of the better ones released this year, despite its faults, it remains informative & entertaining throughout w/ out breaking any new ground like Bret vs. Shawn or CM Punk’s. Though the bread & butter of the DVD is certainly the fantastic collection of matches, ranging from good-classic, not a bad match on the set – even though I would have personally chosen the Flair match from Survivor Series over the random Road to WrestleMania Tournament match. Regardless,… Read more »
Sticky Nick
Guest
Sticky Nick
2 years 10 months ago

he never put orton over by pinfall in any good matches they had, but some of the forgettable matches they had rather.

Brad Attitude
Guest
Brad Attitude
2 years 10 months ago

He refused to put over guys like Rob Van Dam and Booker T.

Jess
Guest
Jess
2 years 10 months ago
Booker, I agree but Goldberg coming in and future plans for him to dethrone HHH after a long reign kind of ruined that. RVD was NOT the guy, he never was and in 2006, when he had the biggest opportunity of his career, he proved that he was not trustworthy enough to carry the ball with the careless shit he pulled. Definition of a squandered opportunity. This is why it bothers me when people still argue that he should have let RVD win the title at the time. Why? There’s more to the business and being the top guy than… Read more »
Brad Attitude
Guest
Brad Attitude
2 years 10 months ago

He’s also well known for his backstage politicking which ends up playing a role on live TV … his run between 2003 – 2006 is infamous for his politics and not willing to put over talent.

John A.
Guest
John A.
2 years 10 months ago
Another solid effort from WWE this year, however, solid is about as good as it’s gotten all year! The documentary portion is one of the better ones released this year, despite its faults, it remains informative & entertaining throughout w/ out breaking any new ground like Bret vs. Shawn or CM Punk’s. Though the bread & butter of the DVD is certainly the fantastic collection of matches, ranging from good-classic, not a bad match on the set – even though I would have personally chosen the Flair match from Survivor Series over the random Road to WrestleMania Tournament match. Regardless,… Read more »
Brad Attitude
Guest
Brad Attitude
2 years 10 months ago

I would’ve chosen the Flair match from 2002 where he challenged Triple H for the World Title

Black Zombie
Guest
Black Zombie
2 years 10 months ago

I dunno whether u should be laughing or take your review seriously. I still think Triple H beating Orton for the belt in the opening match of No Mercy would’ve been a better fit as it was more a moment of his rather than the concluding moment in their last man standing match. Plus that natch really should’ve been on Randy’s dvd/bluray set

Steve G
Member
Steve G
2 years 10 months ago
Pretty good review. I do agree with the fact that the documentary was very good but not great. There was too much glazed over and the part of him in the terrible movies was not needed. Especially considering they skipped the great heel run of 03-06.They did very little also with the Austin feud that lasted over a year essentially. The matches picked were perfect. Essentially no repeats thank god! How you can say we needed a Taker WM match makes no sense. It has been released on 4 sets already and the match isn’t even two years old. Would… Read more »
Ballzdeep Washington
Guest
Ballzdeep Washington
2 years 10 months ago

I really enjoyed the production value of this release. I consider it to be in the upper echelon of WWE home video releases.

wwefan2013
Guest
wwefan2013
2 years 10 months ago

Great review. This DVD is so overrated by the other reviewers it’s insane. The first 30 or so minutes is solid but it jumped from 1999/2000 to the wedding and they spent like 15 minutes on some old stuff we heard before (Wedding)

2002 return is covered then from then on nothing, 2003/4/5 is skipped. They incorrectly say DX 2006 was during “The PG Era” when it was still edgy DX just with more joking (2009 was full PG)

2013 sucked for WWE DVD’s only Foley’s was decent. (Doc’s only)

wwefan2013
Guest
wwefan2013
2 years 10 months ago

I also forgot to say the most interesting part of the Doc was a Blu Ray extra (Evolution 5th member?)

Mike
Guest
Mike
2 years 10 months ago

Oh and Undertakers music when he returns at judgment day was dubbed over. They used the ministry theme with some other song.

wpDiscuz

More of the latest Wrestling DVD News...      

BIG PRICE DROP on WWE ‘History of The Hardcore Championship’ DVD – Intro & First Photos Revealed
Exclusive: First Look Photos of Tomorrow’s New WWE DVD – BATTLEGROUND 2016 – And A Free Gift!
Official Trailer for WWE ‘RANDY ORTON – RKO Outta Nowhere’ DVD, Latest on Brand Split PPV Releases
Exclusive: Sneak Peek of WWE ‘History of Hardcore Championship 24/7’ DVD (And Its Hardcore Hosts!)
Breaking: WWE To Re-Release WRESTLEMANIA 17 (Unedited) And Other Classic Mania DVDs Soon?
Status of ‘Brand Split’ WWE PPV DVDs Revealed, New Brock Lesnar Blu-Ray No Longer Available?