Review: ‘The Best of WWE at Madison Square Garden’ DVD & Blu-Ray

August 28, 2013 by Joe Israel

Best of WWE at Madison Square Garden DVD

When the concept behind the Best of WWE at Madison Square Garden DVD was announced, I was a bit skeptical.  It felt like a somewhat arbitrary idea for a set: a bunch of WWE matches that all took place in the same building.  Like some others, I assumed this would basically be another thinly veiled “History of WWE” type of collection. 

In a way, that is the case.  However, the overall packaging helps give the theme some value, and in the end I enjoyed this set a bit more than I expected.  Disc 1 of the Blu-ray runs approximately 4 hours, 30 minutes, while Disc 2 runs 2 hours, 45 minutes with 90 minutes of Blu-ray extras.  The set is rated TV-14, and Ventura’s commentary has been edited out of the WrestleMania I match.

 

“The Mecca”: The Concept

As far as match compilations go, this comp grants me one of my top wishes: including an introduction before each match.  Not only that, but the interviews are insightful, new (for the most part), and are generally related to the match you are about to watch.  Yes, they do get a bit repetitive.  There is a lot of “MSG is great, once you’ve worked there you’ve made it”-type sentiment, but it seems genuine.  The best interviews, though, tell fun stories about the match you are about to watch.  I have to applaud the WWE for the amount of talent they reached out to for interviews here.  Not only is this the first DVD released by the WWE to feature an interview with Bruno Sammartino, they reached out to superstars like Bob Backlund, Iron Sheik, Bob Uecker, and others not often seen on WWE features.  It was a bit difficut to tell when the bulk of these interviews were filmed.  The only ones that clearly were part of other releases were the ones with Bret Hart and The Rock.

WWE Madison Square Garden DVD Bruno Sammartino Interviews

One of the biggest debates about this release is whether or not a documentary should have been included instead of the mixed-in interviews.  Without question, I think the WWE made the right call here.  As I mentioned, the interviews can get a bit repetitive, and this would have been more noticeable in a documentary.  There’s no real story to MSG’s role in WWE history either.  It’s always been an important venue for them; there aren’t any “ups and downs” necessary to tell some type of story.  Placing a bunch of fun interviews throughout the DVD and including even more on the Blu-ray as extras was a very successful method to make the theme of the set important and help string the matches together.

 

“It’s Like a Demolition Derby”: The Matches

WWE Championship Match: Ivan Koloff Vs. Pedro Morales (MSG, 2/8/71) – **

This match is clearly dated, but taking into account that the match is over 40 years old, it isn’t all that bad.  I really enjoyed the ending, and the overall flow of the match is slow, but sensible.

WWE MSG Bruno Sammartino and Superstar Billy Graham

WWE Championship Match: Superstar Billy Graham Vs. Bruno Sammartino (MSG, 6/27/77) – * 1/2

I am willing to acknowledge the slower style of matches of this era, but this match suffers from a bad case of repetition.  The moves are all very similar, and it’s not in a way that works from a psychology standpoint.  This makes it a bit of a chore to sit through.

WWE Championship Texas Death Match: Bob Backlund Vs. Ken Patera (MSG, 5/19/80) – ** 3/4

This was a pleasant surprise.  For a match from 1980, the action moves at a pretty quick pace, and the storytelling is great.  The hardcore gimmick helps add to the storytelling as well.

WWE Bob Backlund vs Harley Race

Undisputed Wrestling Heavyweight Championship Match: Bob Backlund Vs. Harley Race (MSG, 9/22/80) – ** 1/4

While this match is well put together, and has some great psychology, it is really slow.  I understand everything about how this match was put together, but this match really struggles in translating to today’s audience.  It’s just a little plodding.

WWE Championship Match: Iron Sheik Vs. Hulk Hogan (MSG, 1/23/84) – * 3/4

You can easily make the argument that this is most important match in wrestling history.  While it isn’t a marvelous match, the crowd makes it fun to watch, and Hulk comes out of the match looking like a big time champ.

Boot Camp Match: Sgt. Slaughter Vs. Iron Sheik (MSG, 6/16/84) – *** 1/4

The emotions behind this match are fantastic.  I felt like Slaughter and Sheik really wanted to destroy each other.  That helps keep the match really exciting.  The match also moves at a nice pace.

Hulk Hogan & Mr T. Vs. “Rowdy” Roddy Piper & Paul Orndorff (WrestleMania, 3/31/85) – ** 1/2

I had forgotten just how crazy the spectacle behind this match was.  For that reason alone, this was a necessary inclusion on the set.  The match itself isn’t great, but they play off the crowd pretty well and get the many people at ringside involved in a fun way.

WWE Paul Orndorff and Andre The Giant

Andre the Giant & Paul Orndorff Vs. “Rowdy” Roddy Piper & “Cowboy” Bob Orton (MSG, 8/10/85) – **

This is your standard “old school” tag team match.  The pre-match promos that are included were probably my favorite part of this one.

Intercontinental Championship Match: Honky Tonk Man Vs. Ultimate Warrior (SummerSlam, 8/29/88) – N/A

An historic squash match.  Nice to see included, even if short.

WWE Bret Hart Sharpshooter in MSG

Intercontinental Championship Match: Bret Hart Vs. Mr. Perfect (8/26/91) – **** 1/2

At one point in this match, Heenan mentions on commentary that is feels like both men keep going back and forth in taking control of the match.  This unique pacing makes the match stand out as a classic.  It feels like a genuine wrestling encounter (or as genuine as you can get), and the action is non-stop fun.  The conclusion to the match is a great sequence as well.

Intercontinental Championship Ladder Match: Shawn Michaels Vs. Razor Ramon (WrestleMania X, 3/20/94) – **** 1/4

There’s not much to say here that hasn’t already been said.  I don’t know that the match has aged as well as I would have hoped, but there’s no doubt that this one is a classic.

WWE Diesel Powerbombing Bob Backlund

WWE Championship Match: Bob Backlund Vs. Diesel (MSG, 11/26/94) – N/A

Another historic squash, this one appearing in full on a DVD for the first time.  For that reason alone, it’s hard to complain about its inclusion.

Survivor Series Elimination Match: Rocky Maivia, Marc Mero, The Stalker, & Jake “The Snake” Roberts Vs. Hunter Hearst Helmsley, Crush, Goldust, & Jerry “The King” Lawler (Survivor Series, 11/17/96) – **

Up until the last minute or so, this match is pretty painfully dull.  I will give credit to Rocky, who pulls out a star-making turn.  He doesn’t get much to do until the very end of the match, though.

Falls Count Anywhere Match: Cactus Jack Vs. Hunter Hearst Helmsley (Raw, 9/22/97) – ***

This is a very famous match that I think helped make both men’s careers in the WWE.  It is another great example of elevating the different weapons spots.  It is clearly inspired by the types of weapons matches that were going on in ECW at the time, but they make the match work for the nationally televised WWE audience.

WWE Jeff Hardy Swanton Bomb in MSG

Tag Team Tables Match: The Dudley Boyz Vs. The Hardy Boyz (Royal Rumble, 1/23/00) – *** 1/2

One of the many precursors to the TLC match, the action in this match is non-stop, high flying, and exciting.  If you enjoyed the other gimmick matches featuring these teams, you’re going to enjoy this match as well.  The end of the match is the epitome of a classic MSG moment.

#1 Contender Match: Triple H Vs. Kurt Angle Vs. Chris Jericho (Raw, 8/7/00) – **

The star power is what makes this match fun to watch, but if it were any other wrestlers in this match (and from a different era for that matter), I don’t think anyone would give a second look to this match.  This could have been great if it were a little longer.  It’s clear this match was included just to get something from the late Attitude Era on the DVD.

WWE John Cena Rapping WrestleMania 20

US Championship Match: Big Show Vs. John Cena (WrestleMania XX, 3/14/04) – ** 1/4

A star-making moment for Cena here.  The match itself is pretty much what you would expect.  The pre-match rap from Cena was my favorite part of this.

Trish Stratus Vs. Mickie James (Raw, 9/11/06) – * 3/4

A very good divas match, but way too short.  This was Trish’s farewell Raw match, so it is a worthwhile inclusion.  Trish & Mickie put on some great matches, and this would have been great had it been a little longer.

Royal Rumble Match (Royal Rumble, 1/27/08) – N/A

As expected, this match is joined in progress as Cena enters at #30.  Cena’s return is one of my favorite Rumble moments, but the Rumble match itself isn’t one of the best ever.

WWE Madison Square Garden Triple Threat Tag Match

D-Generation X Vs. Jeri-Show Vs. John Cena & Undertaker (Raw, 11/16/09) – ** 1/4

Like the triple threat match from Raw I discussed above, this is another match that lives off of its star power.  This match is a little bit longer, and does include a few neat multi-man spots, so it is enjoyable.  However, it still feels like a somewhat strange inclusion.

 
Blu-ray Exclusive Matches

Steel Cage Match: Bruno Sammartino & Tito Santana Vs. Randy “Macho Man” Savage &
Adrian Adonis (MSG, 7/12/86) – * 3/4

This is one of those hidden gems that are really cool to see footage of, even if the match is somewhat lacking.  This match mainly focused around men simply trying to escape the cage door or over the top, which I find to be pretty dull.  It’s hard to argue the inclusion of such a weird, rare match though.

Intercontinental Championship Match: Bret Hart Vs. “Million Dollar Man” Ted DiBiase (MSG, 12/29/91) – ***

If you’ve seen the match these two had on Bret’s DVD, then you should know what you are getting here.  Another entertaining encounter that balances scientific wrestling and character stuff very well.

WWE Championship Match: Alberto Del Rio Vs. CM Punk (Survivor Series, 11/20/11) – *** 3/4

I feel like this match has already been somewhat forgotten in the shadow of the infamous Money in the Bank 2011 match.  While this is nowhere near as good as the Chicago classic, it still is a very fun match, and has a lot of historical significance.  I would have put this on the actual DVD in place of the two triple threat matches from Raw; it would have served as a nice, historic ending for the DVD.

 

“And He Drops the Big Leg…”: Closing Thoughts

My expectations were pretty low, but I have to admit I did have fun watching this Blu-ray.  It’s not going to light the world on fire, but it is an easy watch, and the matches went by quickly.  I can’t say my initial reservations were fully overcome, though.  This still is a somewhat flimsy theme for an overall release from WWE, but the interviews helped give some overall coherence.  If you are thinking about this DVD JUST for the interviews, I wouldn’t recommend spending the money on it.  While you get some nice anecdotes, most of the interviews aren’t all that informative.  Spacing them out over the course of the DVD helps keep them fresh, but ultimately they are somewhat light on content even if they are entertaining.

MSG Hogan Leg Drop

Like many recent releases, this DVD gives you a nice balance of hidden gems and classic matches.  While there aren’t too many classic matches on here, there’s nothing all that bad either.  Your mileage may vary on the early matches; if you aren’t a fan of that era, you are going to be bored by some of these matches.  If you are a fan of old school wrestling, though, I think you get some must-see footage on this set.  The interviews do a nice job justifying most of the matches on this DVD, and I do agree with a lot of the matches chosen, even if they aren’t great and have been seen before.  You just can’t do an MSG DVD without including Hogan’s title win or the WrestleMania X ladder match, even if they are “repeats”.  There are also a few segments peppered in throughout the DVD.  Most of them have already been seen before, and aren’t anything to go out of your way to see.  I can’t see myself rewatching these discs, but it is a nice collection of matches to have on in the background.

If you are interested in the set overall, I would recommend getting the Blu-ray over the DVD.  Punk’s win to kick off his epic title run is an important match, and one that is new to compilation DVDs/Blu-rays.  The other two bonus matches are also first-time-ever releases, and while they aren’t all-time classics, they still are worth checking out.  The bonus stories are much like the stories throughout the DVD, and feature some interesting personalities that we rarely see on WWE DVDs, from Ken Patera to Koko B. Ware to Mr. Fuji.  In the end, this will probably end up being one of the weaker releases of 2013 for WWE.  While it isn’t bad per se, there isn’t anything that really makes it special outside of some unique interviews, and those aren’t worth the price of admission alone.  If you are a big fan of old school wrestling, it may be worth it for some of the classic matches, but otherwise, I’d recommend waiting for a sale on this one.  When you watch it, you’ll probably have a good time, but it’s far from an essential release.

 
Get your copy :: Amazon.com.   WWEShop.com.

UK/Europe/Australia :: WWEDVD.co.uk.   WWEDVD.com.au.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks for supporting WrestlingDVDNetwork.com.

 




New WWE DVDs on Amazon.co.uk


17 Comments left on this article...

Leave Your Comments

 

  1. Brad says:

    **3/4 for Backlund/Patera is ridiculously low. It may be the best match of 1980.

    Check out http://placetobenation.com/titans-of-wrestling for a podcast that covers that match (and many more from the time). I think you’ll get a better understanding for those earlier WWF matches after listening.

  2. Brian Solomon says:

    There was “no real story” to MSG’s role in WWE history?? Where do I begin? Vince Sr. securing the rights to promote at the Garden in a promotional war with Toots Mondt and the Johnston Brothers in the late 1950s? How he translated TV exposure for leverage. Using Buddy Rogers as an initial draw at the Garden to put the territory on the map. Bruno and Pedro’s popularity there with Italian and Puerto Rican audiences. Losing their TV in the late 1960s and how the Garden crowds dropped off until the historic Bruno/Crusher Verdu series at the Garden brought the numbers back… The after-show parties at Del Monaco’s during the 1960s and 1970s. The Garden’s role as the launching point for Hulkamania, WrestleMania, and SummerSlam in the 1980s. How about how WCW tried to invade it in the 1990s and was beat back by Vince Jr., who staged the Diesel title change there at a house show in 1994 as a make-good to the Garden for refusing to allow WCW in. There is indeed a story with “ups and downs” to be told!

  3. Anan says:

    It’s a good set. But everyone’s gonna say something is missing and they are right. What I feel should have been included:
    The “MSG Incident”, “The Curtain Call” or whatever you want to dub it as where HHH & Shawn Michaels broke character to say goodbye to Hall and Nash. I know including this would expose the business, which maybe Vince wouldn’t have wanted. But for the sake of the set, I would have liked to have it included.

    Taker vs Bret Hart – MSG 1992. This is on Bret Hart’s Dungeon set so it’s okay that it isn’t here.

    Taker vs Austin and HHH vs The Rock- Summerslam 98. HHH vs The Rock deserves to be here as it was one of the best matches in WWE’s history at MSG. Same said for Taker vs Austin although that one is on Austin’s Bottom Line set.

    Taker vs Mankind – Survivor series 1996. To see Taker’s Batman-like entrance in blu ray quality.

    Taker/Bret Hart vs Diesel/Shawn Michaels – This took place in 1996 before Wrestlemania 12. It’s a live event, non-televised house show match and quite rare. Footage of this match was shown on RAW where Diesel turned heel fully by leaving Michaels, Bret Hart, and Taker out with a chair.

  4. Chris Sellers says:

    Very well done. I wish that there were a few more MSG Matches fromthe 1980’s though.

  5. Wwedvd says:

    A lot of the interviews on this set were recycled. The only new interviews were Bruno, Backlund, Trish, and one McMahon segment.. The rest are recycled from other sets.

  6. Peach says:

    Great set. Lots of repeats, but it literally is the best of msg. There were some great rare house show matches that I’m sure all the super marks wanted, but they will all prob show up separately on unreleased sets like Bret and Hogan had. The interviews were the best part tho. There were some great stories like shawn talking about attendance being down when he main evented. Or like diesel going through airport secutrity with the title belt after beating Backlund. And even generic stuff from Bruno and Rock were good cause its shows how much their big breaks were associated with msg. But there were def a few more recycled ones than you listed like vince from Austins and sheik from stars of 1980s. but other than that it was cool to see so many new ones especially from older guys and then like trish and stuff

  7. Tony Kegger says:

    I think a 45 minute documentary would have been a nice feature for this DVD. That would have made me more likely to get this set.

  8. John Anderson says:

    Not a bad review, although I consider both Backlund/Race & the Bootcamp Match to be two of the best pre Savage/Steamboat WWF matches, both really great matches, I’d give ea. about ****1/2. Anyway I was sold on this set for Bootcamp alone, thought we’d get a JIP on the two Backlund matches, so I was very happy to see them in full here! The amount of repeats would be the only thing holding me back from giving this set a solid thumbs up. 8.0/10 overall. If you like early 80’s stuff this set is great, loved the hidden gem cage match as well!

  9. Vincenzzzzzo says:

    I agree with Mark Foster below. Pro wrestling from the 70’s was about the actual competition between two athletes, instead of the entertainment aspect of it. I don’t find it a chore to sit through at all, actually. I’m sure in 2014 we’ll finally see a Bruno Sammartino documentary, and I can’t wait to see those matches on there.

    • Joe Israel says:

      I don’t think we will ever see a fully dedicated Bruno DVD. I actually think a large reason this MSG set was released was to give us some Bruno footage without needing to release something on him alone. The fact of the matter remains that pre-Attitude Era DVD’s, in general, just don’t sell all that well.

      • Vincenzzzzzo says:

        I hope a Bruno Sammartino set comes out. I am curious to see how well the Superstar Billy Graham DVD sold years ago. It’s actually one of my favorite DVD’s, but I can see how the older stuff wouldn’t sell that well.

  10. Joe Regan says:

    Holy Crap, dude! How can you bad rap the greatest cage match in the history of the Garden??? Sammartino & Santana vs. Savage & Adonis has yet to be topped in that building. It is a classic and I’m stoked at the fact that it single-handedly saved this video release. I’m disappointed at the fact that almost all of the matches selected were re-releases. Several classics were neglected: Steamboat/Muraco (Nov ’85), Savage/Bad News Brown (Dec ’88), Piper/ Orndorff (July ’85), and the huge battle royal from early 1992 with Piper, Sid, Hogan and Flair. Worst of all, the classic matches that they had access to from the MSG network from 1984-92 were all overlooked.

  11. david says:

    good review , im saving up to buy goldberg the ultimate collection on blu ray 🙂 will be worth it

  12. mark foster says:

    I have a issue wit the review calling the bob backland wwe champ vs harley race nwa champ slow.We had great wrestling in the 80′ s.These guys could wrestler not just hit somebody wover the head wit a chair or slam somebody thur a table.Wrestling is the word not just sports entertainment.Its great wrestling and history.Still waitind on a andre the giant dvd collection or bob backland who held the wwe title for 5 years.

  13. WWEFAN2013 says:

    Thanks for the review. Did you notice any edits/blurs/censors other than Jesse commentary?

  14. Colin V. says:

    Nice review, but I’m gonna pass on this afterall. Getting Mid South & Goldberg instead, those will be more woth my money.

More of the latest Wrestling DVD News...    

EARLY RELEASE for WWE’s ‘Undertaker: Last Ride’ DVD (Alternate Artwork!), Payback Cover Revealed
REVEALED: Cover Artwork, Content Listing & Extras for WWE ‘Ruthless Aggression Vol. 1’ DVD
WWE ‘Undertaker – Last Ride’ DVD Gets US Release Date & Bonus Item, Final SummerSlam 2020 Cover
WWE’s ‘Undertaker: The Last Ride’ Docu-Series Coming to DVD, Blu-Ray, And A Collector’s Edition!
WWE DVD Announcements to ‘Mark’ Out For – New Site, Payback Gets a DVD, SummerSlam Cover Art
EXCLUSIVE: The Next ‘Non-PPV’ WWE DVD for 2020 Has RUTHLESS AGGRESSION, Photos of New Release