REVIEW: WWE ‘Best PPV Matches 2015’ DVD

January 24, 2016 by Mark D

WWE Best PPV Matches 2015 DVD Review

Just hours from the very first Pay-Per-View spectacular of 2016, what better time is there to look back at the previous year’s greatest Pay-Per-View matches?

This year the “Best PPV Matches” release returns for fans WORLDWIDE! Sadly we’re without a Blu-ray version again (especially as all the matches and segments were recorded in high definition — but hey, that’s another rant for another day). The Best Pay-Per-View Matches DVD is packed with sixteen matches from between January and October 2015. The set is hosted by Corey Graves (who makes his WWE DVD hosting debut since becoming a part of WWE’s broadcast team).

WWE Best PPV Matches 2015 DVD Review - Corey Graves hosting

A few points to note about the DVD, firstly all of the screen clutter has been removed from each match – that includes hashtags and WWE logos, which is nice. Also another new addition to the PPV matches DVD this year is a series of video recaps of each PPV event. These are great and really provide a good overview of each event. The videos add a lot to the compilation and take it from matches thrown on a DVD to a more finished and complete set.

However, a real true negative of this set is that it abruptly ends in October – last time I checked a year ran all the way through to December. Sadly, WWE’s usual rush to get this DVD out as soon as the calendar changes results in a couple of missing months. Even if WWE could manage to just squeeze on two video packages for the Survivor Series and TLC that would make the set feel a little more rounded and like the last two months of the year weren’t completely forgotten! But hey, I doubt that WWE will change their thinking when it comes to this, so let’s all just move on.

Next up we’ll take a look through a selection of my own personal high points of the DVD…

 
No DQ Triple Threat Match for WWE World Heavyweight Title: Brock Lesnar vs. John Cena vs. Seth Rollins (Royal Rumble; 1/25/15)

It’s often hard to beat the Royal Rumble match to win “match of the evening” at the Royal Rumble event; in fact I only recall a handful of matches that were better than the Royal Rumble and this Triple Threat Match is most definitely on that list! This match was awesome – a thrilling 20 plus minute encounter which had everyone on the edge of their seats from the opening bell. How couldn’t this match be one of 2015’s “best”?

WWE Best PPV Matches 2015 DVD Review - Brock Lesnar pins Seth Rollins, Royal Rumble 2015

#1 Contenders Match: Daniel Bryan vs. Roman Reigns (Fastlane; 2/22/15)

For the second consecutive year, the Royal Rumble match left a little bit of a sour taste in the mouths of fans around the world. In 2015 however WWE attempted to “put things right” by having the Rumble winner – Roman Reigns defend his WrestleMania main event shot against Daniel Bryan. I would like to think that I am bigger than making a comment about this match being used to make Roman “look strong”, but I’m really not! 😉 This one was intended to make Roman look strong heading into WrestleMania at ‘Silicon Valley’ and Bryan helped Roman greatly, as these two warriors put together a really awesome match. Sure many of us didn’t really think we’d have Daniel Bryan vs. Brock Lesnar at WrestleMania 31, but they sure had me a couple of times – as a fan you really can’t ask for much more. Really, really awesome match here – both Bryan and Reigns headed into WrestleMania looking strong.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2015 DVD Review - Roman Reigns and Daniel Bryan stare down, FastLane 2015

WWE World Heavyweight Title Match: Brock Lesnar vs. Roman Reigns (WrestleMania 31; 3/29/15)

Honestly, I wasn’t too sure going in what kind of match this would be, and frankly I was very presently surprised as what we were given was a really great WrestleMania main event, from the drama and brutality of the Lesnar vs. Reigns portion, to the shock and awe of the Seth Rollins cash-in. This might have been one of the most iconic MITB cash-ins (and possibly a good point to let the concept die — or at least take a break). Great match and a great way to close out a fun WrestleMania card. Plus, let’s not forget this match also gave us the immortal “Suplex City” line!

WWE Best PPV Matches 2015 DVD Review - Seth Rollins, WWE Champion, WrestleMania 31

John Cena vs. Kevin Owens (Elimination Chamber; 5/31/15)

Was Elimination Chamber actually a Pay-Per-View? Technically I don’t believe it was available via traditional PPV (at least domestically) but hey, I guess when you have a match the caliber of Owens vs. Cena, it definitely warrants release as part of a “Best of 2015” set.

This one was great and most definitely the show stealer. Deep down fans worldwide never really expected the newly debuting Kevin Owens to pick up a big “W” — especially given that he was taking on “Mr. WWE” John Cena. This one (at least at the time) was a star making performance for Kevin Owens, maybe the follow-up wasn’t quite what it should have been, but just looking here at this match, it was as damn near five stars as you are ever going to get.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2015 DVD Review - Kevin Owens vs. John Cena, Elimination Chamber 2015

Triple Threat Match: Charlotte vs. Brie Bella vs. Sasha Banks (Battleground; 7/19/15)

The Divas Revolution comes to the main WWE roster! Just weeks after Charlotte, Sasha and Becky were brought up from NXT, the ladies (well two, at least) had the opportunity to shine on the grandest stage. Well, Battleground.

The NXT women arrive on the main WWE stage and bring with them a so-called “Divas Revolution” just days after Charlotte, Sasha Banks and Becky Lynch show up we were given this three-way match. Sadly the match pointed out that the main roster divas (namely Brie) are just a step or two behind the NXT divas. Granted this match wasn’t as good as some of the NXT outings we’ve seen the ladies have, but hopefully this is the first step down the long road.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2015 DVD Review - Sasha Banks, Charlotte and Brie Bella, Battleground 2015

WWE World Heavyweight Title Match: Seth Rollins vs. Sting (Night of Champions; 9/20/15)

2015 will be forever remembered by wrestling fans as the year that we FINALLY got to see the Stinger wrestle inside a WWE ring. Sadly however it might have been the one and only year that we see Sting inside a WWE ring, and maybe we’ll never ever get to see that fabled Sting vs. Undertaker showdown we’re craving. What we did get was a great Sting vs. Seth Rollins matchup. This was great, great stuff and other than the scary power bomb into the corner spot Sting and Rollins put together a really awesome match; Rollins managed to hide the older Stinger’s weaknesses perfectly and both guys looked great.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2015 DVD Review - Sting vs. Seth Rollins, Night of Champions 2015

Hell in a Cell Match: The Undertaker vs. Brock Lesnar (Hell in a Cell; 25/10/15)

For me, The Undertaker and Brock Lesnar’s epic SummerSlam showdown will be forever tainted by it’s near ‘botched’ screwy finish. However both guys had the opportunity to eradicate memories of that finish by redeeming themselves with a ‘Hell in Cell’ match. Taker and Lesnar’s previous Hell in a Cell (No Mercy 2002) was epic, but after thirteen years could these two juggernauts equal (or even surpass) their previous Hell in a Cell encounter? Simple answer… Yes. This one featured it all: violence, blood and that all-important ingredient: DRAMA. This was a great match with a really unexpected and unique finish; both guys deserve all the respect of the wrestling fans. Also, in the modern era, it’s nice to see a rivalry worthy of being inside the Hell in a Cell actually end up inside the Cell. Even though it’s only October, this match was a great way to close out this DVD.

WWE Best PPV Matches 2015 DVD Review - The Undertaker, Hell in a Cell 2015

Overall this is a really good DVD set – each of the matches included vary from good to great. Historically we always got at least one or two matches that we all thought “why is this match on here?” but this year all of the matches featured warrant inclusion. The only real downside of the DVD is exactly that – it is a DVD only release. Whether it is attributed to low Blu-ray sales or some other unknown reason, it always perplexes me that the two releases each year which comprise entirely brand new high definition footage (“Best PPV Matche”s and “The Best of RAW & SmackDown”) are the two which aren’t actually released in HD on Blu-ray.

If you are a collector who doesn’t pick up all the monthly PPVs anymore, I’m sure you will love this set. The addition of the video packages for each show really add a lot and make the set feel like a more comprehensive look back at the year. That, coupled with the fact that all the matches are pretty damn good means that this set is easy for me to recommend – so pick it up now!

 
Get your copy of WWE’s new “Best PPV Matches 2015” DVD…
 

USA: Right now! The DVD is in stock here on Amazon.com.

UK/Europe: Right now! Order yours here on Amazon.co.uk.

 

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks for supporting WrestlingDVDNetwork.com.

 




New WWE DVDs on Amazon.co.uk


9 Comments left on this article...

Leave Your Comments

 

  1. Anan says:

    2015 was a great year of matches, no doubt about that. It’d make sense though to include the complete year of 2015. Calling it “The Best PPV Matches of 2015” when ending the set with HIAC, leaving out SSeries and TLC, doesn’t make sense.

    @Jeff Copeland:

    Roman’s not the first one to put up his WM Title shot at a PPV and win. He was the the 3rd. The second was HHH when he put it up against Kurt Angle at No Way Out. But the first was Stone Cold Steve Austin. At St. Valentine’s Day Massacre, he put up his Title shot against Vince inside a Steel Cage of I am not mistaken. He won and went on to win the WWF Title at WM from Rock. Austin is also, I believe the first to have had to win a match just to be a participant in the Rumble. At the December IYH: Rock Bottom PPV, Austin had to defeat Taker in a Buried Alive which he did with help from Kane to get into the Rumble.

  2. Jeff Copeland says:

    i just noticed something i think roman is first one to put up his wm title shot at a ppv in feb and WIN!! Normally i think the rumble winners who have done that have lost hhh 2002 vs angle rock lost to big show 2000 and i think last one was rey loseing to rko in 06 WEIRD HUA!!!! O.O !!!!

    • Anan says:

      Wait. Sorry. You’re right about HHH in 2002. He put up his title shot, but lost. However it was really for nothing as he went on to win the Undisputed Title from Jericho at WM while Angle was in a good match with really no build to it against Kane.

  3. Jeff Copeland says:

    I really enjoyed 2015 as far a ppvs went, really only i guess duds were rumble ex for triple threat and survivor series.

    I wish we would of got a bluray release so they could of added few more extra matches.

    Like ic ladder match from wm 31 or ic chamber match, roman vs bray from battleground or hell in a cell, and one of the cena vs rollins matches should of been on here.

    i do agree why they stop at october is just weird. i think only best of dvds they did the complete year were 2009 raw and 2010 raw the rest stopped at october or early november.

    over all i enjoyed 2015 raws were >.< !!! ex for CENA SUPERMAN US OPEN CHALLENGE!!! NEW DAY and KEVIN OWENS!!! smackdown i don't even really remember anything from sd.

    i was sorta surprized a lack of roman matches considering his matches vs big show last man standing two vs bray were actually really good.

    if they would of added survivor series and tlc match or 2 i would of added wyatts vs kane and taker and tlc wise either tlc match or 3 team ladder match

    so over all 2015 pretty good year some of the finishes to matches kinda dumb but still a good year i pray 2016 is good

    • Anan says:

      Yeah I agree a Cena vs Rollins match belonged. If it were me, I’d have their Summerslam and NOC encounters. People voiced their displeasure of their Summerslam match because of interference, but that was at the end and prior to Jon Stewart costing Cena the match, it was great. I also liked Cesaro vs Owens from Summerslam.

      What they should do is release a bluray of the best of containing RAW, SD, and PPV content from throughout the whole year.

  4. Eric says:

    I like it. I already have all of these on DVD, some on Blu Ray, and of course the network, so I won’t be in the market for this one, but I like it. I would like to have the Owens vs Cena match on a DVD, but I will wait for a really good sale to buy it.

    • Jeff Copeland says:

      that’s just weird they never released elimination chamber on dvd?? WHY!! owens vs cena seth vs ambrose worth the dvd alone. the typical bs ending in ambrose vs rollins but it gave us the ladder match at mitb which finally they got a CLEAN WIN!!!

      the chamber ic and tag matches were a mess but eh a fun car crash. so just weird i wonder if theres ever been any ppvs not on dvd in last 20 years ???

More of the latest Wrestling DVD News...    

EARLY RELEASE for WWE’s ‘Undertaker: Last Ride’ DVD (Alternate Artwork!), Payback Cover Revealed
REVEALED: Cover Artwork, Content Listing & Extras for WWE ‘Ruthless Aggression Vol. 1’ DVD
WWE ‘Undertaker – Last Ride’ DVD Gets US Release Date & Bonus Item, Final SummerSlam 2020 Cover
WWE’s ‘Undertaker: The Last Ride’ Docu-Series Coming to DVD, Blu-Ray, And A Collector’s Edition!
WWE DVD Announcements to ‘Mark’ Out For – New Site, Payback Gets a DVD, SummerSlam Cover Art
EXCLUSIVE: The Next ‘Non-PPV’ WWE DVD for 2020 Has RUTHLESS AGGRESSION, Photos of New Release